Skip to main content
Press Release

Major Drug Trafficking Organization Members Indicted For Methamphetamine And Firearms Charges

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Eastern District of Tennessee

GREENEVILLE, Tenn. – On May 10, 2016, a federal grand jury returned an 80-count indictment, charging 27 individuals with conspiracy to distribute and possess with the intent to distribute more than 50 grams of methamphetamine.  Six were charged with possession of firearms in furtherance of drug trafficking offenses. 

Fifteen of those charged appeared in U.S. District Court on June 24, 2016, before U.S. Magistrate Judge Clifton L. Corker and pleaded not guilty to the charges in the indictment. 

Individuals charged in the indictment include:  Rickey Dale Munsey, 47, Washburn, Tenn.; Jeffery Brian Wills, 27, Greeneville, Tenn.; Joel Hosea Beasley, 36, Morristown, Tenn.; Steven Dwight Hopkins, 46, Mooresburg, Tenn.; Guy Mayns, 31, Morristown, Tenn.; Christopher Allen Williams,  47, Morristown, Tenn.; James Guinn, 36, Morristown, Tenn.; Jenny Louise Musson, 32, Greeneville, Tenn.; Maria Smelcer, 42, Mosheim, Tenn.; Tomasena Miluv Payne, 28, Talbot, Tenn.; David Lee Sicilia, 31, Morristown, Tenn.; Andrew Harville, 28, Morristown, Tenn.; Nathan Carroll, 36,  Morristown, Tenn.; Jamie Lee Bray, 24, Morristown, Tenn.; Darinda Sue Beasley, 36, Morristown, Tenn.; Erica Sue Harris, 34, Russellville, TN Tenn.; Jeremy Kane Jones, 30, Morristown, Tenn.; Eric James Reedy, 32, Rogersville, Tenn.; Timothy Shannon Maner, 35, Morristown, Tenn.; Christopher Wayne Munsey, 26, Morristown, Tenn.; Morgan Alan Moore, 30, Morristown, Tenn.; James Calvin Hale, 38, Morristown, Tenn.; Larry Wayne Martin, 52, Russellville, Tenn.; Kellie Hopkins, 23, Mooresburg, Tenn.; Donald Edward Grey, Jr., 40, Bean Station, Tenn.; John Nathaniel Beasley, 19, Mooresburg, Tenn.; and Tim Parvin, 38, Russellville, Tenn.

If convicted as charged on the methamphetamine conspiracy count, the defendants face a mandatory minimum of 10 years up to life in prison, a maximum fine of $10,000,000.00, and a minimum of five years supervised release.

This indictment is the result of an investigation by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Hamblen County Sheriff’s Office, Third Judicial District Drug Task Force, Fourth Judicial District Drug Task Force, Morristown Police Department, Greene County Sheriff’s Office, Hawkins County Sheriff’s Office, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office, Knox County Sheriff’s Office, Jefferson City Police Department, Grainger County Sheriff’s Office; Johnson City Police Department, Bean Station Police Department and Claiborne County Sheriff’s Office. Assistant U.S. Attorney Donald Wayne Taylor will represent the United States. 

This prosecution is brought as a part of the Department of Justice’s Organized Crime and Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF) program, the centerpiece of the Department of Justice’s drug supply reduction strategy.  OCDETF was established in 1982 to conduct comprehensive, multilevel attacks on major drug trafficking and money laundering organizations.  Today, OCDETF combines the resources and expertise of its member federal agencies in cooperation with state and local law enforcement. The principal mission of the OCDETF program is to identify, disrupt, and dismantle the most serious drug trafficking and money laundering organizations and those primarily responsible for the nation’s drug supply

Members of the public are reminded that an indictment constitutes only charges and that every person is presumed innocent until his or her guilt has been proven beyond a reasonable doubt.


Updated June 27, 2016

Drug Trafficking