Skip to main content

Geographic Divisions

The District of Maryland includes two geographic divisions. The Southern Division, shown in gray below, encompasses the counties of Calvert, Charles, Prince George’s, Montgomery and St. Mary’s. Cases arising in the Southern Division are filed in the Greenbelt federal courthouse, in Prince George’s County. More than 20 Assistant U.S. Attorneys are based in Greenbelt.

The Northern Division, shown in red below, encompasses the city of Baltimore, and the remaining 18 counties. Cases arising in the Northern Division are filed in the Baltimore federal courthouse. More than 60 criminal and civil lawyers handle cases in the Northern Division from our office in downtown Baltimore.

District of Maryland Geographic Divisions

(Click the image to enlarge)

Updated January 28, 2015