Skip to main content
Press Release

U.S. Attorney’s Office Honors 25 Law Enforcement Officials In Awards Ceremony For Outstanding Efforts In Fighting Crime

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Middle District of Pennsylvania

Harrisburg – The United States Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of Pennsylvania announced that U.S. Attorney David J. Freed presented awards on Friday, March 22, 2019, to members of law enforcement agencies for their outstanding efforts in fighting crime.

“Cooperation among federal, state and local law enforcement is a key component in our mission to reduce crime and protect law-abiding citizens throughout the Middle District of Pennsylvania,” said U.S. Attorney Freed.  “We are pleased and proud to recognize our colleagues who stand out for their bravery, dedication and service.”

The award recipients are being honored for their exceptional heroism, distinguished service, and outstanding contributions to cooperative law enforcement. Those honored at Friday’s ceremony included:

Nine members of the U.S. Marshals Taskforce received the Exceptional Heroism Award for their involvement in a shootout with a fugitive, which Deputy U.S. Marshal Christopher Hill was killed in the line of duty.  Included in receiving this award was the family of U.S. Deputy Marshal Christopher Hill.

Three law enforcement members are receiving the Lifetime Service Award which recognized their many years of exemplary service to their agency:   

  • One Special Agent with the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA);
  • Task Force Officer of the PA State Police assigned to the FBI; and
  • Wyoming County District Attorney’s Office Chief Detective David A. Ide.

Lebanon County First Assistant District Attorney Nichole Eisenhart received an Award For Outstanding Trial Advocacy by a Special Assistant United States Attorney for her contributions in connection with a large drug case in Lebanon County that resulted in numerous convictions and seizures of firearms and drugs.

Three law enforcement members received an Award For Outstanding Contributions to Cooperative Law Enforcement for significantly increasing cooperation among law enforcement agencies:

  • York City Police Department Chief of Police Troy Bankert;
  • Luzerne County District Attorney Stefanie J. Salavantis;
  • Postal Inspector with the U.S. Postal Inspection Service

The following individuals received an Award For Distinguished Service for their exceptional work in complex investigations:

  • DEA Special Agent Michael Neff;
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation Special Agents Bruce Doupe, Gary Leone, and Larry Whitehead;
  • Task Force Officer working with the FBI Hugh Earhart;
  • Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture employees Walt Remmert, Charles “J.R.” Anderson, and George Minner; and
  • Fairview Township Police Department Sergeant Mike Bennage.


# # #

Updated March 25, 2019