Skip to main content
Press Release

Law Enforcement Officers Receive Victim Service Awards

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of Iowa

United States Attorney Kevin W. Techau presented the 15th Annual Iowa Law Enforcement Victim Service Awards to three Iowa law enforcement officers.  The awards were presented at a press conference held today at the United States Attorney’s Office in Cedar Rapids.  Techau presented the awards on behalf of his office and the office of United States Attorney Nicholas Klinefeldt of the Southern District of Iowa.            
The Law Enforcement Victim Service Awards are the highest federal honors in the State of Iowa for victim services provided by law enforcement.  The awards are presented to law enforcement officers who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to show compassion and care for victims of crime.  The Continuous Service Award recognizes a nominee who has provided help to victims for many years or developed an innovative program or policy that continues to serve crime victims.  The Single Act Award recognizes officers who have provided exceptional assistance to crime victims in a specific case.  Two awards are presented each year during National Crime Victims’ Rights Week; observed this year the week of April 6 through April 12.

The Continuous Service Award

This year’s Continuous Service Award was presented to Investigator Corey Peiffer from the Cedar Rapids Police Department.  Investigator Peiffer has worked for the Cedar Rapids Police Department for over sixteen years and, during that time, has proven himself as someone who is very caring and compassionate to those victimized by crime.  Recently, Investigator Peiffer’s work investigating a reported sexual assault on a minor led to the arrest and conviction of Lucas Robinson.  Robinson was an Internet predator who convinced young girls, between the ages of 10 and 17 years, to produce and send pornographic images of themselves to Robinson over the Internet.  Due in large part to Investigator Peiffer’s work on this case, several other victims of Robinson’s were discovered.  Robinson is now serving a 42-year prison sentence.  Investigator Peiffer worked with law enforcement agencies across the country to make personal contact with Robinson’s victims and their families and ensure them that Robinson had been identified and arrested.  His hard work and dedication in this case exemplifies the way he works with all victims of all types of crimes.  Investigator Peiffer has a true passion for helping crime victims and holding their offenders accountable for their actions. 

The Single Act Award

Single Act Awards were presented to Special Agent Darrell Simmons from the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation and Investigator Rodney Fiser from the Hiawatha Police Department for their work investigating the death of 17 month-old Kamryn Schlitter.  Special Agent Simmons and Investigator Fiser combined their efforts to ensure that those responsible for her death were identified, charged and convicted.  During their investigation, they never lost sight of the impact this crime had on Kamryn’s grieving family.  “This team met with Kamryn’s family members and navigated the tender balance between consoling grief-stricken loved ones and gathering the factual information they needed to uncover the truth about what happened to Kamryn,” said U.S. Attorney Techau.  As a result of their unyielding dedication of seeking justice for Kamryn, Zyriah Schlitter and Amy Parmer were charged and convicted.  Both are now serving 50-year prison sentences.  First Assistant Linn County Attorney Nick Maybanks said in nominating Special Agent Simmons and Investigator Fisher for this award, “We are eternally proud to have worked beside them.” 

Without a doubt all of these law enforcement officers go “above and beyond” the call of duty to assist crime victims.  Because of their dedication, our communities are better served.  The U.S. Attorneys’ Offices in Iowa are proud to present the 2014 Law Enforcement Victim Service Awards to these individuals.

Updated February 19, 2015