You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Northern District of Iowa

Monday, January 30, 2017

Methamphetamine Trafficker Sentenced to More than 24 Years in Federal Prison

An Iowa man who distributed pounds of ice methamphetamine was sentenced today to more than 24 years in federal prison.


Marcos Perez-Trevino, age 46, from Marshalltown, Iowa, received the prison term after an August 16, 2016, jury verdict finding him guilty of conspiring to distribute ice methamphetamine.


Evidence at trial showed Perez-Trevino had been involved in the distribution of ice methamphetamine in the Marshalltown area since at least 2014. As time passed, Perez-Trevino became involved in distributing higher quantities of ice methamphetamine. He arranged for multiple pounds of methamphetamine to be shipped from Mexico to Iowa. Once the drugs were in his possession in Iowa, Perez-Trevino distributed the methamphetamine to a network of individuals in multiple ounce quantities. Further, on August 12, 2015, police in Oklahoma stopped a car driven by Perez-Trevino. Police found and seized almost two pounds of methamphetamine from the car. He claimed he had found the methamphetamine at a nearby rest stop.


Perez-Trevino was sentenced in Cedar Rapids by United States District Court Chief Judge Linda R. Reade. Perez-Trevino was sentenced to 292 months’ imprisonment. A special assessment of $100 was imposed. He must also serve a five-year term of supervised release after the prison term. There is no parole in the federal system.


Perez-Trevino is being held in the United States Marshal’s custody until he can be transported to a federal prison.


The case is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Lisa C. Williams as part of the Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF) program of the United States Department of Justice through a cooperative effort of the Tri-County Drug Task Force, comprised of the Waterloo Police Department, Black Hawk County Sheriff’s Office, Cedar Falls Police Department, LaPorte City Police Department, Hudson Police Department, Evansdale Police Department, University of Northern Iowa Police Department, Waverly Police Department and the Bremer County Sheriff’s Office; the Mid-Iowa Task Force, comprised of the Marshalltown Police Department, Marshall County Sheriff’s Office, Tama County Sheriff’s Office, Grundy County Sheriff’s Office, Hardin County Sheriff’s Office, Iowa Falls Police Department, Eldora Police Department and the Dysart Police Department; and the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Task Force consisting of the DEA; the Linn County Sheriff's Office; the Cedar Rapids Police Department; the Marion Police Department; the Iowa City Police Department; and the Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement.


Court file information at

The case file number is 15-CR-2037.


Follow us on Twitter @USAO_NDIA.

Drug Trafficking
Updated January 31, 2017