You are here

Meet the U.S. Attorney

Richard D. Westphal Headshot Photo

Richard D. Westphal

U.S. Attorney

U.S. Attorney Richard D. Westphal was born and raised in Davenport, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in business administration, and in 1990 received a law degree from the University of Iowa, College of Law. Westphal was admitted into the State of Iowa bar in June 1990. He began private practice from 1990-1993 at Reynolds and Kenline in Dubuque, Iowa. From 1993-1996, Westphal was an assistant county attorney in Johnson County and Muscatine County. In April 1996, he was designated as a Special Assistant U.S. Attorney, Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa specializing in methamphetamine prosecutions. From June 1997 to the present, Westphal has been an Assistant United States Attorney in the Southern District of Iowa. While at the U.S. Attorney’s Office he has been Branch Chief of the Davenport Branch Office (2013), Criminal Chief (June 2018), and First Assistant United States Attorney (January 2021). On January 8, 2021, Westphal was appointed as the Acting United States Attorney. On November 16, 2021 Attorney General Garland appointed him as U.S. Attorney.


United States Attorney Listing for the Southern District of Iowa
Territory of Iowa (6/12/1838)
Cyrus S. Jacobs 1838
Isaac Van Allen 1838-1840
Charles Weston 1840-1843
John G. Deshler 1843-1845
Southern District of Iowa (12/28/1846)
Edward Johnston 1845-1847
Isaac M. Preston 1847-1850
Stephen Whicher 1850-1852
Joseph C. Knapp 1852-1860
W.H.F. Gurley 1860-1863
Robert H. Gilmore 1863-1865
Caleb Baldwin 1865-1867
Milton D. Browning 1867-1869
William Fletcher Sapp 1869-1873
James T. Lane 1873-1882
Dewitt C. Cram 1883-1883
John S. Runnels 1882-1885
Daniel O. Finch 1885-1889
Lewis Miles 1889-1893
Charles D. Fullen 1893-1898
Lewis Miller 1898-1907
Marcellus L. Temple 1907-1914
Claude R. Porter 1914-1918
Edwin G. Moon 1918-1922
Ralph Pringle 1922-1924
Edwin G. Moon 1924
Ross R. Mowry 1924-1932
Robert W. Colflesh 1932-1934
Edwin G. Moon 1934-1939
Cloid I. Level 1939
John K. Valentine 1939-1940
Hugh B. McCoy 1940
Maurice F. Donegan 1940-1949
William R. Hart 1949-1953
Roy L. Stephenson 1953-1960
Roy W. Meadows 1960-1961
Donald A. Wine 1961-1965
Philip T. Riley 1965
Donald M. Statton 1965-1967
Jerry E. Williams 1967
James P. Rielly 1967-1969
Allen L. Donielson 1969-1976
George H. Perry 1976-1977
Paul A. Zoss, Jr 1977
James R. Rosenbaum 1977
Roxanne Barton Conlin 1977-1981
Kermit B. Anderson 1981
Richard C. Turner 1981-1986
Christopher D. Hagen 1986-1989
Gene W. Shepard 1989-1993
Christopher D. Hagen 1993
Don C. Nickerson 1993-2001
Inga Bumbary-Langston 2001
Steven M. Colloton 2001-2003
Stephen Patrick O'Meara 2003-2004
Matthew G. Whitaker 2004-2009
Nicholas A. Klinefeldt 2009-2015
Kevin E. VanderSchel 2015-2017
Marc Krickbaum 2017-2021
Richard D. Westphal 2021-Present
Updated November 16, 2021