Skip to main content

Regional Divisions

The United States Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana is the Chief Federal Law Enforcement Officer for the District. The United States Attorney enforces the federal criminal laws in the Southern District of Indiana in the United States Courts, represents agencies of the United States in civil cases, and argues on behalf of the United States to the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

The Southern District of Indiana consists of the southern sixty (60) counties of the state. The District is divided into four (4) divisions: Indianapolis, Terre Haute, Evansville, and New Albany. Cases are filed in the Division having venue of the action, with certain exceptions (e.g. cases which normally would fall into different divisions but which are related to one another by defendant and/or subject matter will often be accepted for filing in a single Division).

The United States Attorney's Office is based in Indianapolis, with a staffed office in Evansville, and unstaffed offices in New Albany and Terre Haute.  

Staff Organization


The United States Attorney leads an organization comprised of a General Crimes, Drug Trafficking Crime, Violent Crime, National Security, Civil and Administrative units.

The First Assistant manages the day-to-day operations of the Office and supervises the manager of each Division as well as the Administrative Officer, the Law Enforcement Coordinator and the Public Information Officer.

The Criminal Division Chief manages the Criminal Division and in so doing supervises four Unit Chiefs (Drug Trafficking, General Crimes, Violent Crime, National Security, and Evansville Branch Office), the Senior Litigation Counsel, and the Victim Witness Coordinator.  Each Unit Chief holds primary responsibility over the case/task assignments and the supervision of attorneys within his/her respective unit.

The Drug Trafficking Unit Chief supervises the attorneys assigned to the DT unit. The Drug Trafficking Unit Chief is responsible for case/task assignments, the management of the attorneys within the unit, and the successful implementation of the Project Safe Neighborhoods Initiative.

The National Security Unit Chief is the primary representative for the U.S. Attorney with the Joint Terrorism Task Force (JTTF) in the District and the Anti-Terrorism Advisory Council (ATAC), and represents the U.S. Attorney’s Office with the federal, state, and local anti-terrorism and national security preparedness efforts including the state’s Counter-Terrorism Advisory Security Council.

The Civil Division Chief supervises the attorneys and staff assigned to the Civil Division and is responsible for case/task assignments and management of defensive litigation, Health Care Fraud, and Affirmative Civil Enforcement (ACE).  The Civil Division Chief also oversees the Supervisor of the Asset Recovery Unit, who is responsible for the Asset Forfeiture program and the Financial Litigation program, including the collection of debts owed the government and restitution owed to victims of crime.

The Appellate Division Chief supervises the attorneys and staff assigned to the Appellate Division and is responsible for case/task assignments.  The Appellate Division is responsible for all appeals and post-conviction matters in the District, as well as legal issues support for all attorneys in the District.  The Appellate Division Chief also serves as counsel for the U.S. Attorney and First Assistant U.S. Attorney concerning legal developments and initiatives, as well as Department of Justice policies.

The Administrative Officer supervises the Budget Officer, the Human Resources Director, the Systems Manager and administrative staff, who have joint responsibility over personnel, financial, space, and information technology-related services.  The Administrative Officer works collaboratively with the managing attorneys to support all litigation efforts in the Distict.

Updated November 3, 2022