You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Western District of Arkansas

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Eleven Defendants From Operation Three Amigos Sentenced To Over 111 Years In Federal Prison For Drug Trafficking


El Dorado, Arkansas - Kenneth Elser, United States Attorney for the Western District of Arkansas, announced today that all Defendants in Operation Three Amigos announced on February 3, 2015, have now been sentenced in Federal Court. A joint operation by the Camden Police Department, Ouachita County Sheriff’s Office, Drug Enforcement Administration, the 13th Judicial Drug Task Force, United States Attorney’s Office, and the FBI resulted in the ultimate arrest and prosecution of 11 Federal Defendants. The investigation resulted in the initial seizure of firearms, ammunition, four vehicles and over $10,000.00 in United States currency from members of the organization and combined sentences of over 111 years for trafficking methamphetamine and crack cocaine in Camden.

Agents with the Drug Enforcement Administration and FBI Task Force Officers began their investigation into drug trafficking in Ouachita County and Camden in particular in 2011. The investigation included witness interviews, controlled purchases of methamphetamine and crack cocaine, surveillance and monitoring, and other investigative techniques. Several Defendants were prosecuted for conspiracy as well as distribution charges.

The most recent sentencings took place on the conspiracy charge as Christopher “Tank” Turner was sentenced on June 13, 2017, to 210 months in prison after have been found to be responsible for conspiring to distribute over 20 kilograms of crack cocaine from 2012 through 2014. Kim “2Lou” Williams received a sentence of 77 months on June 23, 2017 for conspiracy to distribute crack cocaine along with his brother, Will Williams who received a sentence of 30 months on June 22, 2017.

Several Defendants were charged and sentenced for distribution of large quantities of crack cocaine in the operation: Mario Thomas aka “Hoolie” was sentenced to 180 months in federal prison on January 26, 2016, Orlando Mitchell, aka “Stunna” received 140 months on February 14, 2017, Jeffrey Haywood, aka “Woodchuck” received 127 months on July 25, 2016, Carlos Morgan aka “Li’l Gafford” received 120 months on July 20, 2016, Darren Dee Atkins aka “Noonie” received 84 months on June 30, 2017, and Sheldon Mitchell aka “Yak” received a sentence of 63 months on January 21, 2016.

Also in this operation, methamphetamine distributors were apprehended and prosecuted. On January 26, 2016, Senica Howard aka “Big Howard” was sentenced to 120 months in federal prison for distribution of methamphetamine. Mario McGeilberry aka “Y.A.” aka “Dollar” received 140 months on July 28, 2016, for conspiring to distribute methamphetamine with his wife, Tamar McGeilberry aka “Angel” in February of 2015. “Angel” received a sentence of 48 months on December 13, 2016, for using a wireless communication device in furtherance of shipping several packages of methamphetamine through the United States mail.

U. S. Attorney Kenneth Elser stated, “Drug distribution organizations are one of the biggest threats to the safety and security of our communities. Our citizens in south Arkansas feel the impact that crack and meth have on the street. Most of the time, the cost of the narcotics trade is borne not by the distributor but by the children and families of users. Our law enforcement partners in the DEA and FBI are cooperating with outstanding state and local partners to ensure that the risks of dealing crack and meth are placed back on the distributors who hopefully determine that these activities are not worth the consequences.”

“Today’s sentencing highlights the impact multiple agencies can have when they join forces in efforts to seek out and prosecute those who bring drugs into our Arkansas communities,” commented Diane Upchurch, Special Agent in Charge of the Federal Bureau of Investigation in Little Rock, “We at the FBI are happy to have had this opportunity to work with U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Western District of Arkansas, Camden Police Department, Ouachita County Sheriff’s Office, Drug Enforcement Administration, and the 13th Judicial Drug Task Force.”

“Methamphetamine and crack cocaine are destructive poisons that can cause terrible harm to the quality of life in any community,” said Stephen G. Azzam, Special Agent in Charge of DEA’s New Orleans Field Division. “Side by side with our federal, state and local law enforcement partners, DEA is holding drug dealers accountable. We are seizing their profits, shutting down their distribution networks, and putting dealers where they belong- behind bars. This investigation demonstrates our unending resolve to remove drug dealers from the communities here in south Arkansas and across the country. These lengthy sentences will put these criminals out of commission for a long time.”

David Butler, Prosecuting Attorney for the 13th Judicial District of Arkansas and head of the 13th Judicial District Drug Task Force commented, “This investigation demonstrates the outstanding results that come from joint investigations involving state, federal, and local agencies. Thanks for the hard work by officers.”


All terms of federal prison were followed by a three year term of supervised release to begin immediately upon their release from the Federal Bureau of Prisons. The Honorable Susan O. Hickey presided over the sentencing hearings in the United States District Court in El Dorado and Texarkana.

Operation Three Amigos was a joint operation between the 13th Judicial Drug Task Force, the Camden Police Department, the Ouachita County Sheriff’s Office, the Little Rock FBI Division, the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Ouachita County Prosecutor’s Office, and the Arkansas State Police. Assistant U.S. Attorney Ben Wulff prosecuted the cases for the Western District of Arkansas.

* * * E N D * * *


Related court documents may be found on the Public Access to Electronic Records website @

Drug Trafficking
Updated July 11, 2017