You are here


United States Attorneys have three statutory responsibilities under Title 28, Section 507 of the United States Code:

  • The prosecution of criminal cases brought by the Federal government;
  • The prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and
  • The collection of debts owed the Federal government which are administratively uncollectible.

To meet these responsibilities, the United States Attorney's Office is organized into three major divisions: the Criminal Division, the Civil Division, and the Administrative Division.

This page and its links are intended to provide you with a comprehensive overview of the different divisions within the U.S. Attorney's Office and the role each component plays in ensuring justice in the district.

Updated February 4, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No