You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Western District of North Carolina

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

U.S. Attorney Andrew Murray Hosts Inaugural Awards Ceremony To Recognize 21 Law Enforcement Officers And Agents For Their Outstanding Achievements

CHARLOTTE, N.C. –  U.S. Attorney Andrew Murray recognized 21 officers and agents from 13 local, state and federal law enforcement agencies during the Western District’s inaugural “Excellence in the Pursuit of Justice” awards ceremony, for their outstanding performance and investigative work in cases prosecuted by the U.S. Attorney’s Office.

The following agencies and law enforcement officials were presented with awards at today’s ceremony:

  • Asheville Police Department - Sonia Escobedo, Task Force Officer with the Drug Enforcement Administration.
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives – Special Agent Brent Vossekuil.
  • Charlotte Mecklenburg Police Department – Jeff King, Matt Mescan, Kevin Stuesse, and Fred Thomas.
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation - Special Agents Jim Granozio, Andy Romaguolo, Jason Milhone, and Doug Curran.
  • Homeland Security Investigations – Special Agent Klarisa Zaffark.
  • Huntersville Police Department – Detective Brad Myers, Task Force Officer with Homeland Security Investigations.
  • IRS – Criminal Investigation Division- Special Agent Tyiesha Nixon.
  • Monroe Police Department - Barney Malone.
  • North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation – Special Agents Casey Drake and Matt Davis.
  • Union County Sheriff’s Office - Daniel Stroud.
  • United States Postal Inspection Service – Inspector Randy Berkland.
  • United States Probation Office – U.S. Probation Officer John Holiday.
  • Union County Sheriff’s Office - Daniel Stroud.

During his remarks at today’s ceremony U.S. Attorney Murray said, “I congratulate the award recipients for their tireless efforts to achieve extraordinary results.  I also thank all of our local, state and federal law enforcement officers and agents for their service, and for risking their lives each day to protect the citizens of the Western District of North Carolina, to enhance community safety, and to do justice.”

In addition to the district awards, 10 additional investigators and prosecutors received the Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force (OCDETF) award for their prosecution of the MS-13 gang.  This is the first time the Western District of North Carolina has received this prestigious national award, which was presented by Adam Cohen, Director of the OCDETF program, to the following recipients:

  • William Miller, Assistant U.S. Attorney (AUSA) with the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Western District of North Carolina, and former AUSA Beth Greene.
  • Susan Conrad, Julian Igualada, Barton Jenkins, Ernesto Negron, and Justin Telford with the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
  • Michael Tobin with Homeland Security Investigations.
  • Kevin Wallin and Timothy White with the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department.

“I am honored that my Office’s federal prosecutors and investigators with our law enforcement counterparts are among the recipients of this national recognition. In this district, we have a longstanding history of collaboration with our law enforcement partners, and on behalf of my office and the citizens of the Western District, I am thankful for their outstanding work, their coordination and their continued support.”


Updated April 23, 2019