Skip to main content
Foreign Claims Settlement Commission and map

About the Commission

The Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States (FCSC) is a quasi-judicial, independent agency within the Department of Justice which adjudicates claims of U.S. nationals against foreign governments, under specific jurisdiction conferred by Congress, pursuant to international claims settlement agreements, or at the request of the Secretary of State. Funds for payment of the Commission's awards are derived from congressional appropriations, international claims settlements, or liquidation of foreign assets in the United States by the Departments of Justice and the Treasury.

Meet the Commissioners


July 13, 2022

The Commission has Completed its Adjudication Under Guam World War II Loyalty Recognition Act

On July 6, 2022, the Commission completed its adjudication of the Guam claims program.  On that date, the Commission certified the last set of claims to the Treasury Department under the Guam Act, Section 1704(a)(2), claims of Survivors of Compensable Guam Decedents.  All of the Commission’s awards have now been certified to the Treasury Department for payment.  The total value of all awards certified by the Commission is $34,298,154.01.  For more information about the program please refer to the program summary.