Skip to main content
Press Release

Department of Justice Announces Third Annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

Attorney General William P. Barr today announced the third annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing. 

The Attorney General’s Award recognizes individual state, local or tribal sworn, rank- and-file police officers, deputies and troopers for exceptional efforts in community policing. The awarded officer(s), deputy(ies) or troopers will have demonstrated active engagement with the community in one of three areas: criminal investigations, field operations, or innovations in policing.

“Law enforcement officers put their safety and lives on the line every day for our protection," Attorney General William P. Barr said. "They have a noble calling, and we are grateful to every officer in this country. But some officers have gone above and beyond the call of duty and deserve to be recognized for particular acts of valor and dedication. Today I am pleased to announce the third annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing, which recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding state and local officers who have proven themselves to be some of the nation’s finest."

President Donald J. Trump established clear directives for the Department of Justice – with three Executive Orders – demonstrating his strong support of the law enforcement community. These Executive Orders commit the Department to working in tandem with state and local law enforcement to restore the rule of law, reduce violent crime, dismantle criminal gangs, and combat the growing drug epidemic. Today the Department of Justice continues to support the President’s directive to honor law enforcement officers by announcing the third annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing.

Within each category, an award will be given to law enforcement agencies serving small, medium, and large jurisdictions:

  • Small: Agencies serving populations of fewer than 50,000
  • Medium: Agencies serving populations of 50,000 to 250,000
  • Large: Agencies serving populations of more than 250,000

By distinguishing and rewarding these efforts, the Department strives to promote and sustain its national commitment to policing and to advance proactive policing practices that are fair and effective.

With the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing, the Office of the Attorney General recognizes that the nation’s more than 18,000 law enforcement agencies, individual officers, deputies, and troopers are working hard to keep our communities safe.

The application for nominees can be found at:

Updated July 15, 2021

Press Release Number: 19-547