Skip to main content
Press Release

The Honorable Douglas H. Ginsburg Receives Justice Department's 2020 John Sherman Award

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs
Antitrust Division Presents Award in Recognition of Judge Ginsburg’s Lifetime Contributions to Antitrust Law and Policy

Watch the ceremony.

Read Judge Ginsburg's remarks.

The Antitrust Division of the Department of Justice today presented Judge Douglas H. Ginsburg with the John Sherman Award for his lifetime contributions to the development of antitrust law and the preservation of economic liberty.  The award is the Department of Justice’s highest antitrust honor. Assistant Attorney General Makan Delrahim presented the award and gave remarks celebrating Judge Ginsburg’s contributions during a ceremony displayed virtually and conducted at the Robert F. Kennedy Department of Justice Building.  Judge Ginsburg also delivered remarks in accepting the award.  

“I can think of no more deserving recipient for the Sherman Award than Judge Ginsburg,” said Assistant Attorney General Delrahim. “His career in public service and his scholarship have shaped the way that antitrust law is understood and practiced. We all are the beneficiaries of Judge Ginsburg’s brilliance, hard work, and dedication to public service.”

Created in 1994, the John Sherman Award is presented by the Justice Department's Antitrust Division to a person or persons for outstanding contributions to the field of antitrust law, the protection of American consumers, and the preservation of economic liberty.

Updated January 15, 2021

Press Release Number: 20-1155