Skip to main content
Press Release

Justice Department Announces Funding Opportunities for Federally-Recognized Tribes and Tribal Consortia

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

Grants Available to Support Public Safety Projects in Indian Country

The U.S. Department of Justice today announced the opening of the grant solicitation period for comprehensive funding to American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments and tribal consortia to support public safety, victim services and crime prevention improvements.  The department’s Fiscal Year (FY) 2016 Coordinated Tribal Assistance Solicitation (CTAS) posts today at /media/1097216/download?inline.

“Since 2010, the CTAS program has helped tribes develop their own comprehensive approaches to making their communities safer and healthier,” said Acting Associate Attorney General Stuart F. Delery.  “CTAS grants have funded more than 1,400 programs to better serve crime victims, promote community policing and strengthen justice systems.

CTAS is administered by the Department of Justice’s Office of Justice Programs (OJP), including its Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA), Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) and the Office for Victims of Crime (OVC); and the Department of Jusitce’s Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) and Office on Violence Against Women (OVW).  The funding can be used to enhance law enforcement, bolster adult and juvenile justice systems, prevent and control juvenile delinquency, serve native victims of crime including, child abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence and elder abuse victims; and support other efforts to combat crime.

Applications for CTAS are submitted through the Department of Justice’s Grants Management System (GMS), which enables grantees to register and apply for CTAS online.  Applicants must register with GMS prior to submitting an application.  The application deadline is Feb. 23, 2016, at 9:00 P.M. EST.

The FY 2016 CTAS reflects improvements and refinements from earlier versions.  Feedback was provided to the department during tribal consultations and listening sessions, and survey assessments, which include tribal leaders’ requests to improve and simplify the department  grant-making process. Changes to department grant programs, enacted with the passage of the Tribal Law and Order Act, are incorporated into the CTAS solicitation and in the appropriate purpose areas.  More information about all changes to the FY 2016 CTAS Solicitation is available on the CTAS fact sheet at:  /media/1097226/download?inline.

For the FY 2016 CTAS, a tribe or tribal consortium will submit a single application and select from any or all of the nine competitive grant programs referred to as “purpose areas.”  This approach allows the department’s grant-making components to consider the totality of a tribal nation’s overall public safety needs. 

The nine purpose areas (PA) are:

  • PA1 - Public Safety and Community Policing (COPS)

  • PA2 - Comprehensive Tribal Justice Systems Strategic Planning (BJA)

  • PA3 - Justice Systems and Alcohol and Substance Abuse (BJA)

  • PA4 - Corrections and Correctional Alternatives (BJA)

  • PA5 - Violence Against Women Tribal Governments Program (OVW)

  • PA6 - Children’s Justice Act Partnerships for Indian Communities (OVC)

  • PA7 - Comprehensive Tribal Victim Assistance Program (OVC)

  • PA8 - Juvenile Justice Wellness Courts (OJJDP)

  • PA9 - Tribal Youth Program (OJJDP)

Tribes or tribal consortia may also be eligible for non-tribal, government-specific (non-CTAS) federal grant programs and are encouraged to explore other funding opportunities for which they may be eligible. Additional funding information may be found at the Department of Justice’s Tribal Justice and Safety website at or the website.

Today’s announcement is part of the Department of Justice’s ongoing initiative to increase engagement, coordination and action on public safety in tribal communities.

Updated August 22, 2016

Indian Country Law and Justice
Press Release Number: 14-1429