Skip to main content
Press Release

Justice Department Awards $18 Million to Address Sexual Violence on Campuses

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

The Justice Department’s Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) today announced 57 grants totaling over $18 million to help campuses respond to the crimes of sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking. 

OVW’s Grants to Reduce Sexual Assault, Domestic Violence, Dating Violence, and Stalking on Campus Program support institutions of higher education in implementing comprehensive, coordinated responses to violent crimes on campus through partnerships with victim services providers and justice agencies. The recipients of these grants will work collaboratively with local law enforcement and prosecutors, campus athletic programs, Greek life organizations, and off-campus victim services, as each plays a critical role in making campuses safer and more just. The awards will make possible a range of services, including specialized training for campus law enforcement, healthcare providers, university personnel and others who are often first responders. 

Recipients of awards under OVW’s Campus Grant Program are:

  • South Arkansas Community College (Arkansas);
  • California State University Bakersfield (California);
  • Humboldt State University Sponsored Programs Foundation (California);
  • Regents of the University of California, Santa Barbara (California);
  • Shasta-Tehama-Trinity Joint Community College District (California);
  • Southwestern Community College District (California);
  • Albertus Magnus College (Connecticut);
  • Asnuntuck Community College (Connecticut);
  • Fairfield University (Connecticut);
  • District Board of Trustees of Pensacola State College (Florida);
  • Florida State University (Florida);
  • Miami Dade College (Florida);
  • Spelman College (Georgia);
  • Dominican University (Illinois);
  • Northeastern Illinois University (Illinois);
  • Northern Illinois University (Illinois);
  • Trustees of Indiana University (Indiana);
  • Indian Hills Community College (Iowa);
  • Northern Kentucky University (Kentucky);
  • St. Joseph’s College (Maine);
  • University of Maine at Augusta (Maine);
  • Anne Arundel Community College (Maryland);
  • Harford Community College (Maryland);
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore (Maryland);
  • Bentley University (Massachusetts);
  • Kalamazoo College (Michigan);
  • Mississippi Valley State University (Mississippi);
  • Avila University (Missouri);
  • Community College District of Jefferson County (Missouri);
  • Salish Kootenai College (Montana);
  • College of Saint Mary (Nebraska);
  • Board of Regents, University of Nevada, Reno (Nevada);
  • Caldwell University, Incorporated (New Jersey);
  • Centenary University (New Jersey);
  • Passaic County Community College (New Jersey);
  • William Paterson University (New Jersey);
  • University of New Mexico (New Mexico);
  • Medaille College (New York);
  • Molloy College (New York);
  • Paul Smith’s College of Arts & Sciences (New York);
  • St. Bonaventure University (New York);
  • St. John’s University, New York (New York);
  • Trocaire College (New York);
  • Lourdes University (Ohio);
  • Miami University (Ohio);
  • Tiffin University (Ohio);
  • University of Akron (Ohio);
  • Lewis & Clark College (Oregon);
  • Arcadia University (Pennsylvania);
  • Juniata College (Pennsylvania);
  • Wilson College (Pennsylvania);
  • Augustana College (South Dakota);
  • Dakota Wesleyan University (South Dakota);
  • University of Texas at El Paso (Texas);
  • University of Lynchburg (Virginia);
  • Bellevue College (Washington); and
  • Edmonds Community College (Washington).

“It is vital to keep our students safe on campuses by supporting programs that take a coordinated community approach to education and prevention of sexual assault on our college and university campuses,” said OVW Acting Director Katharine Sullivan.  “OVW is proud of our innovative approach to the development of the campus grant programs.  We welcome our new grantees and congratulations to our continuing grantees.”  


Updated August 29, 2018

Press Release Number: 18-1123