Justice News

Department of Justice
Office of Public Affairs

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

National Advisory Committee on Violence Against Women Holds Meeting in Washington, D.C.

WASHINGTON – Susan B. Carbon, Director of the Justice Department’s Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), will convene the second meeting of the National Committee on Violence Against Women (NAC) on THURSDAY, JUNE 2, 2011 at 9:00 A.M. EDT.

The NAC was chartered to provide Attorney General Eric Holder and Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius with practical and general policy advice concerning improvements to the nation’s response to violence against women. The NAC’s members will continue deliberations and dialogue focused on children and youth exposed to violence and successful intervention and prevention strategies.

The agenda for the meeting includes facilitated discussions and presentations from experts, advocates and federal agency representatives on issues affecting children and youth, their families and communities.

WHO: Susan B. Carbon, Director, Office on Violence Against Women
National Advisory Committee Members attending the meeting include:
Dr. Jeffrey L. Edleson, Maria Jose Fletcher, Neil Irvin,
Amber Johnson, Monika Johnson Hostler, Debbie Lee,
Betsy McAlister Groves, Carol Post, Francine Sherman,
The Honorable Melvin Stoof, Jerry Tello, Joe Torre,
Gabrielle Union, Dr. Sujata Warrier
WHAT: Opening Session and Interview Availability
National Committee on Violence Against Women Meeting
WHERE: The Fairfax at Embassy Row
2100 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
9:00 A.M. – 10:30 A.M. EDT
Media Interviews
10:30 A.M. EDT

NOTE: All media must present government-issued photo I.D. (such as a driver’s license) as well as valid media credentials. Media interested in interviewing National Advisory Committee Members MUST contact Joan LaRocca at 202-307-6873.

Press Release Number: 
Updated September 24, 2014