Skip to main content
Press Release

President’s Corporate Fraud Task Force Adds Six New Member Agencies

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

WASHINGTON – The President’s Corporate Fraud Task Force has been expanded to include six new agencies to help in the focus on mortgage and securitization fraud cases, Deputy Attorney General Mark R. Filip, the Task Force Chairman, announced today.

The Task Force’s expanded roster includes the Federal Housing Finance Agency, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Office of Thrift Supervision, the Federal Reserve, the Department of Housing and Urban Development, and the Special Inspector General for the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP). The new member agencies represent a continuing focus by the Task Force to crack down on mortgage fraud, particularly with regard to ongoing investigations into securitization fraud. The additions mark the largest expansion of the Task Force since it was formed in July 2002.

“The Task Force is uniquely suited to providing the kind of thoughtfulness and collaboration that can be invaluable in tackling mortgage fraud at the corporate level, and in trying to analyze whether and when law enforcement action is appropriate,” said Deputy Attorney General Filip. “These new members reflect the breadth and depth of the mortgage crisis that we are now confronting, and the urgency of the task before us.”

In addition to remarks by the Deputy Attorney General, the Task Force was briefed today by representatives from several of the regulatory agencies on their efforts to tackle mortgage fraud and heard from the Special Inspector General of the newly formed TARP.

The Task Force’s current members include the Assistant Attorneys General for the Justice Department’s Civil and Tax Divisions, the Director of the FBI, seven U.S. Attorneys Offices, the Secretaries of the Departments of Treasury and Labor, and the heads of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Federal Communications Commission, United States Postal Inspection Service, and the Department of Housing and Urban Development's Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight.

Since July 2002, the task force has yielded remarkable results with nearly 1,300 corporate fraud convictions to date, including more than 200 chief executive officers and presidents, more than 120 corporate vice presidents, and more than 50 chief financial officers.

President Bush created the President’s Corporate Fraud Task Force on July 9, 2002 to restore public and investor confidence in America’s corporations following a wave of major corporate scandals. Since its inception, the Task Force has compiled a strong record of combating corporate fraud and punishing those who violate the trust of employees and investors. Prosecutors and agency attorneys who are part of the Task Force have brought charges for accounting fraud, securities fraud, insider trading, market manipulation, wire fraud, obstruction of justice, false statements, money laundering, Foreign Corrupt Practices Act violations, stock option backdating and conspiracy, among others. More information on the task force can be found at .

Updated September 15, 2014

Press Release Number: 09-003