Justice News

Department of Justice
Office of Public Affairs

Monday, January 12, 2015

President's Task Force on 21st Century Policing to Convene First Public Meeting


Members of the President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing will hold the first public listening session on TUESDAY, JAN. 13, 2015, AT 9:00 A.M., EST, at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.  The Task Force members will hear testimony from five panels of witnesses on ways to improve the collaborative relationship between law enforcement and the communities they serve, exchange best practices for policing strategies, promote effective crime reduction and address concerns about violence directed at law enforcement.

WHAT:          Task Force on 21st Century Policing’s First Listening Session

WHO:            Task Force on 21st Century Policing

WHEN:          TUESDAY, JANUARY 13, 2015

                          9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST

WHERE:      The Newseum

                         555 Pennsylvania Avenue NW

                         Washington, DC 20001

                      OPEN PRESS (MEDIA PRE-SET 7:45 a.m. EST//FINAL MEDIA ACCESS TIME 8:30 a.m. EST)

NOTE: All media must present government-issued photo I.D. (such as a driver’s license as well as valid media credentials).  Due to space limitations, entrance is not guaranteed.  Media inquiries regarding logistics should contact Silas Darden at Silas.Darden@usdoj.gov or at (202) 307-0703.  This event will be live streamed on the Task Force on 21st Century Policing webpage.


Task Force on 21st Century Policing Listening Session

9:00 a.m. EST           Welcome Remarks and Task Force Overview

Ronald Davis, Executive Director of the Task Force and Director of the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office)

9:05 a.m. EST           Opening Statements by Task Force Chairs & Introduction of Task Force



Task Force Co-Chairs:

Charles Ramsey, Commissioner of the Philadelphia Police Department

Laurie Robinson, Professor at George Mason University


Task Force Members:

Cedric Alexander, Deputy Chief Operating Officer for Public Safety of DeKalb County and President of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives

Jose Lopez, Lead Organizer of Make the Road New York

Tracey Meares, Walton Hale Hamilton Professor of Law at Yale Law School

Brittany Packnett, Executive Director of Teach for America – St. Louis

Susan Rahr, Executive Director of Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission

Constance Rice, Co-Director of The Advancement Project

Sean Smoot, Director and Chief Counsel of Police Benevolent & Protective Association of Illinois and the Police Benevolent Labor Committee

Bryan Stevenson, Founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative

Roberto Villaseñor, Chief of Police of the Tucson Police Department    


9:30 a.m. EST           Witness Panel Discussion I:

Jennifer Eberhardt, Associate Professor of Psychology at Stanford University

Charles Ogletree, Jesse Climenko Professor of Law and Director at Harvard Law School

Tom Tyler, Macklin Fleming Professor of Law and Professor of Psychology at Yale Law School

Samuel Walker, Emeritus Professor of Criminal Justice at the University of Nebraska–Omaha


10:30 a.m. EST         Witness Panel Discussion II:

Carmen Perez, Executive Director of The Gathering for Justice

Jim St. Germain, Founder of Preparing Leaders for Tomorrow

Jim Winkler, President and General Secretary of the National Council of Churches

Ashley Yates, Co-Founder of Millennial Activists United


11:30 a.m. EST         Witness Panel Discussion III:

Richard Beary, President of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)

Chuck Canterbury, National President of the Fraternal Order of Police

Andrew Peralta, National President of the National Latino Peace Officers Association

Richard Stanek, Past President and Executive Committee’s Sergeant-at-Arms of the Major County Sheriffs’ Association and National Sheriffs’ Association


1:30 p.m. EST          Witness Panel Discussion IV:

Sherrilyn Ifill, President and Director-Counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund (NAACP LDF)

Laura Murphy, Director, Washington Legislative Office, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

Vikrant Reddy, Senior Policy Analyst, Texas Public Policy Foundation’s Center for Effective Justice

Maria Teresa Kumar, President and CEO, Voto Latino


2:30 p.m. EST          Witness Panel Discussion V:

Kevin Johnson, Mayor of Sacramento

Michael Nutter, Mayor of Philadelphia

Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, Mayor of Baltimore


3:30 p.m. EST            Testimonies from the Audience

4:30 p.m. EST            Task Force Closing Remarks

5:00 p.m. EST            Meeting ends        

*Written testimonies and a live stream of the meeting will available on the Task Force on 21st Century Policing webpage


About the President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing

The President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing was established by an Executive Order signed by the President on Dec. 18, 2014.  The Task Force – which includes law enforcement representatives, community leaders, young adults and notable scholars – will examine, among other issues, how to strengthen public trust and foster strong relationships between local law enforcement and the communities that they protect, while also promoting effective crime reduction.  Members of the Task Force will engage federal, state, tribal and local officials, subject matter experts, young leaders, and nongovernmental organizations through meetings and 21st century technology.  The Task Force will also convene listening sessions where they will hear testimony, including proposed recommendations for consideration, from invited witnesses and also receive comments and questions from the public.

Press Release Number: 
Updated January 12, 2015