Skip to main content

Progress on Marriage Equality

Remote video URL
Watch Progress on Marriage Equality on YouTube.

Attorney General Holder Announces Federal Government to Recognize Legal Same-Sex Marriages In Seven New States

Last week, the United States Supreme Court declined to review rulings from three federal appeals courts that had struck down bans on same-sex marriage in five states across the country. Within hours of the decision, same-sex couples in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin were able to have their unions recognized in the states where they live. Today, Attorney General Eric Holder announced that the federal government would recognize same-sex marriages performed in no fewer than seven new states, with additional states likely to follow. This brings the total number of states where same-sex marriages are federally recognized to 26, plus the District of Columbia. Attorney General Holder pledged to extend all applicable federal benefits to same-sex married couples to the fullest extent allowed by federal law. And he made clear that, if the Supreme Court decides to address the constitutionality of state bans on same-sex marriage, the Justice Department is prepared to file a brief consistent with its past support for marriage equality.

Updated January 18, 2023

Civil Rights