Skip to main content

Office Overview

The United States Attorney is the chief federal law enforcement officer in the District of Hawaii and is appointed by the President. United States Attorneys and their Assistant United States Attorneys (AUSA) prosecute violations of federal law and represent federal agencies in federal courts. They also collect debts owed the federal government. United States Attorneys are not permitted to represent private individuals or businesses, nor are they permitted to give legal advice to members of the public. The office has 26 AUSAs and approximately 35 support staff members.

Criminal Division

The Criminal Division has 20 AUSAs and is divided into two sections:

Violent Crime and Drug Section – This Section handles violent crime, national security offenses, drug trafficking crimes, organized crime, firearm offenses, immigration crimes, child pornography, cybercrime, customs crimes, visa/passport fraud, criminal civil rights actions, and wildlife offenses.

Political Corruption and Fraud Section - This Section prosecutes financial crimes, public corruption, criminal tax offenses, money laundering offenses, election offenses, intellectual property crimes, identity theft, access device fraud, and environmental offenses.

Civil Division

The Civil Division has five AUSAs who represent the government in civil actions, both as plaintiff and defendant. Defensive cases include representing the United States in Federal Tort Claims Act cases, administrative appeals and employment discrimination. In other cases, AUSAs pursue, on behalf of the United States, civil fraud, False Claims Act cases and health and defense contractor fraud. The Financial Litigation Unit, part of the Civil Division, handles federal liens and collects criminal fines and federal debts.

Administrative Division

The Administrative Division works closely with all levels of staff to support the mission of the of the office. This division is responsible for all administrative programs for the office. Departments within the division include budget, finance, human resources, information technology, procurement, and support services.

Updated March 16, 2018