You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
District of Kansas

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Jury Convicts Former Teller Of Embezzling from Bank in Coffey County

TOPEKA, KAN. B A federal jury Thursday convicted a former teller at a bank in Burlington on charges of embezzling approximately $700,000, U.S. Attorney Tom Beall said today.


Denise Christy, 48, Burlington, Kan., was convicted on one count of embezzlement, six counts of making false bank entries, six counts of filing false tax returns and six counts of money laundering.


During trial, the prosecutor presented evidence the crimes were committed while Christy worked as a retail financial services representative and backup vault teller for the Burlington branch of Central National Bank. One of Christy’s duties was to sell cash in the bank’s vault to the Federal Reserve Bank. In May 2014 auditors determined that more than $700,000 was missing from the vault. Christy falsely claimed the money was shipped to the Federal Reserve Bank via the Garda security company. An investigation showed Christy falsified bank records to cover up the embezzlement and failed to report the embezzled funds as part of her income. In addition, she unlawfully conducted financial transactions in order to spend more than $77,000 in embezzled funds to pay off loans that she and her husband maintained at Farmers State Bank in Aliceville, Kan.


Sentencing is set for April 17. The crimes carry the following penalties:


Embezzlement: A maximum penalty of 30 years in federal prison and a fine up to $1 million.

Making false bank entries: A maximum penalty of 30 years in federal prison and a fine up to $1 million on each count.

False tax returns: A maximum penalty of three years and a fine up to $100,000 on each count.

Money laundering: A maximum penalty of 20 years and a fine up to $50,000 on each count.


Beall commended the Internal Revenue Service and Assistant U.S. Attorney Rich Hathaway for their work on the case.

Financial Fraud
Updated January 12, 2017