You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
District of New Hampshire

Monday, January 11, 2016

Emily Gray Rice Sworn In As United States Attorney

          CONCORD – The United States Attorney’s Office for the District of New Hampshire announced that the Honorable Emily Gray Rice was sworn in today as the United States Attorney for the District of New Hampshire.  U.S. Attorney Rice is the 56th United States Attorney for the district and is the first woman to hold the position after having been nominated by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate.

          U. S. Attorney Rice has been a trial lawyer for thirty years.  She began her legal career at the New Hampshire Attorney General’s Office, representing the State of New Hampshire before the state and federal courts and administrative bodies.  During her final three years there, she served as a senior assistant attorney general and chief of the bureau of civil law.  After leaving the Attorney General’s Office, U. S. Attorney Rice spent more than two decades in private litigation practice, handling both trials and appeals.  Immediately prior to becoming United States Attorney, she was a shareholder with Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson, working in its Manchester, New Hampshire office. 

          U. S. Attorney Rice has been recognized by the New Hampshire Bar Association with the E. Donald Dufresne Award for Outstanding Professionalism; by the New Hampshire Women’s Bar Association with the Marilla Ricker Achievement Award; and by the New Hampshire Bar Association as an Honorary Fellow.  Before becoming United States Attorney, she was the co-chair as of the New Hampshire Governor’s Judicial Selection Commission; the chair of the Leadership Council of the New Hampshire Campaign for Legal Services; and a member of the adjunct faculty at the UNH School of Law.  U. S. Attorney Rice is a product of the Philadelphia public schools and earned her B.A. and M.A. degrees from Boston University.  She is a proud graduate of the Northeastern University School of Law.

Updated January 11, 2016