You are here

About The District

Josh Minkler

Josh Minkler

Josh Minkler was appointed by the President as the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana and sworn in on October 10, 2017. Prior to his appointment as United States Attorney, Minkler served as First Assistant United States Attorney, Drug and Violent Crimes Unit Chief, and as an Assistant United States Attorney in the Criminal Division since 1994. Before joining the office, he was an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney in Kent County, Michigan. A native of Muncie, Indiana, Mr. Minkler graduated Wabash College in 1985 and Indiana University Mauer School of Law in 1988.



The United States Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana is the Chief Federal Law Enforcement Officer for the District. The United States Attorney enforces the federal criminal laws in the Southern District of Indiana in the Unites States Courts, represents agencies of the United States in civil cases, and argues on behalf of the United States to the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

The Southern District of Indiana consists of the southern sixty (60) counties of the state. The District is divided into four (4) divisions: Indianapolis, Terre Haute, Evansville, and New Albany.

Cases are filed in the Division having venue of the action, with certain exceptions (e.g. cases which normally would fall into different divisions but which are related to one another by defendant and/or subject matter will often be accepted for filing in a single Division).

The United States Attorney's Office is based in Indianapolis, with a staffed office in Evansville, and unstaffed offices in New Albany and Terre Haute.

The Mission of the United States Attorney's Office is to:

  • Fairly and justly prosecute violations of federal criminal law and to represent the United States and its agencies in civil litigation;
  • Educate and inform the public, including victims of crime, about the functions of the justice system and the rights of all citizens;
  • Assume a leadership role in crime prevention through speaking engagements and community involvement; and
  • Conduct federal and local law enforcement training and facilitate cooperation and collaboration among law enforcement agencies.

United States Attorney Minkler has defined the district priorities in a Strategic Plan that will shape the focus of the office. The Strategic Plan can be accessed here.

Updated January 21, 2020

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No