Skip to main content

About the Office

United States Attorneys serve as the nation's principal litigators under the direction of the Attorney General. There are 93 United States Attorneys stationed throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. United States Attorneys are appointed by, and serve at the discretion of, the President of the United States, with advice and consent of the United States Senate. One United States Attorney is assigned to each of the judicial districts, with the exception of Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands where a single United States Attorney serves in both districts. Each United States Attorney is the chief federal law enforcement officer of the United States within his or her particular jurisdiction.

United States Attorneys conduct most of the trial work in which the United States is a party. The United States Attorneys have three statutory responsibilities under Title 28, Section 547 of the United States Code: the prosecution of criminal cases brought by the Federal government; the prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and the collection of debts owed the Federal government which are administratively uncollectible.          

United States Attorneys are nominated by the President and are confirmed by the United States Senate.  The term of United States Attorneys is set at four years which may be renewed.  As a presidential appointment, United States Attorneys are said to “serve at the pleasure of the President.”  United States Attorneys ensure the investigative efforts of federal law enforcement agencies are pursued and violations of federal criminal law are prosecuted.  They also serve as the advocates and defenders of the United States government in civil lawsuits.  United States Attorneys generally receive matters when federal court litigation is involved or contemplated.



Updated March 5, 2024