Skip to main content

Civil Division


The Civil Division consists of the Defensive Civil Litigation Unit and the Affirmative Civil Litigation Unit.

Defensive Civil Litigation Unit

The majority of the Civil Division's AUSAs are assigned to the general defensive litigation team. This team principally defends the United States in employment discrimination and harassment actions along with vehicular, medical malpractice and other personal injury matters brought under the Federal Tort Claims Act. General defensive litigation attorneys are also responsible for cases in a wide array of other disciplines, including the Freedom of Information Act and Privacy Act, Administrative Procedures Act, constitutional torts, Social Security, subpoenas, constitutional law, prisoners' rights, civil rights and government contracts.

Affirmative Civil Litigation Unit

Affirmative Civil Litigation Unit includes the Affirmative Civil Enforcement (ACE), the Asset Forfeiture and the Bankruptcy/Financial Litigation. Attorneys in the Affirmative Civil Litigation Unit represent the United States in a variety of cases in which the government typically is the plaintiff.


In ACE cases, the United States generally seeks to recover damages and penalties, or to obtain injunctive relief, against defendants who commit civil wrongs against the United States. The kinds of cases handled by attorneys who practice in this area include: fraud perpetrated against the government, including health care fraud, defense procurement fraud and grant fraud; kickbacks; whistle-blower cases; actions to recover for fires wrongfully ignited on federal land; consumer product safety cases; civil rights cases, including enforcement of the Americans with Disabilities Act and Fair Housing Act; drug cases involving civil violations of the Controlled Substances Act; and actions involving misuse of Housing and Urban Development project funds.

Asset Forfeiture

In asset forfeiture cases, the United States typically seeks to forfeit the proceeds of criminal activity and property that facilitates the commission of crimes. Forfeited assets are used to fund federal, state and local law enforcement activities and to provide restitution to victims of crime.


In bankruptcy cases, the office represents the interests of federal agencies with claims against entities and individuals who have filed for bankruptcy protection.

Financial Litigation Unit

In financial litigation cases, the government generally seeks to enforce the collection of debts owed to the United States through civil and criminal judgments, including restitution, fines and penalties.

Civil Civil Rights Unit

The Office of the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Mississippi, Civil Division has established a Civil Rights Section to enforce federal statutes prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, sex, religion, disability, and other protected characteristics. The Civil Rights Section has successfully litigated and resolved cases in a variety of contexts including fair housing, access to public accommodation and educational opportunities.


The Civil Division Civil Rights Section, along with the United States Department of Justice Civil Rights Division, has jurisdiction to bring cases under a number of federal statutes, including:

 The Fair Housing Act

 Title II of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

 The Religious Land and Institutionalized Persons Act

 Equal Credit Opportunity Act

 American’s With Disabilities Act

 Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

 Service Members Civil Relief Act

 Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act


Click here for the Civil Rights Complaint Form.





Updated November 6, 2023