Skip to main content

Task Forces

To enforce federal law, the U.S. Attorney's Office works closely with the West Virginia State Police, local police departments, county sheriff’s offices, and drug task forces consisting of representatives of federal, state, and local law enforcement. These task forces are specifically intended to target a particular criminal activity, often in a particular geographical location. Below is a list of some key task forces that partner with the United States Attorney's Office. These task forces contribute greatly to the successful prosecution of federal crimes in the Southern District of West Virginia.

Appalachia HIDTA

(Boone, Brooke, Cabell, Hancock, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Wayne, Cabell, Ohio and Putnam counties)
WV Deputy Director: Kenny Burner
Phone: 304-522-0901

Central West Virginia Task Force

(Nicholas, Clay, Webster and Pocahontas counties)
Task Force Coordinator:R.E. Stephenson
Office: (304) 872-0377

Huntington Violent Crime & Drug Task Force

(Cabell, Wayne, Lincoln and Mason counties)
Task Force Coordinator:Darrin Cox
Phone: 304-523-0837

Metropolitan Drug Enforcement Network Team (MDENT)

(Kanawha and Putnam counties)
Task Force Coordinator: Eric Johnson
Phone: 304-348-6814

Parkersburg Drug & Violent Crime Task Force

(Wood, Pleasants, Wirt, Ritchie and Jackson counties)
Task Force Coordinator:Chris Blevins
Phone: 304-485-1601

Southern Regional Drug & Violent Crime Task Force

(Mercer, McDowell & Wyoming counties)
Task Force Coordinator: Jose Centeno
Phone: 304-327-9342

U.S. Route 119 Drug Task Force

(Boone, Logan, Lincoln, and Mingo counties)
Task Force Coordinator:Andy Perdue
Phone: 304-752-1347


Greenbrier County Drug and Violent Crime Task Force

Task Force Coordinator:Chris Kelly
Phone: 304-520-4972

West Virginia State Police, Bureau of Criminal Investigations (BCI)

Officer in Charge:Capt. Tim Bledsoe
Phone: 304-766-5560

Updated February 14, 2017