You are here

Administrative Division

The mission of the Administrative Division is to provide efficient and effective administrative services and support to the employees of the United States Attorney's Office of the Western District of Texas.  The Administrative Division is responsible for planning and executing a comprehensive range of services in the areas of financial management, human resources, information management, and support services to the headquarters office, six staffed branch offices, and one unstaffed office.

Administrative Officer
The Division is managed by the Administrative Officer (AO) who is the principal advisor to the United States Attorney and management officials, and the District regarding Administration.   The AO advances the interests of the USAO through effective coordination and interaction with EOUSA, the Department, the courts, and other federal agencies.  The AO provides leadership and guidance to the District on the management and use of the District's financial, manpower, and physical resources, and on administrative policies, procedures, and practices. The Administrative Officer supervises a support staff of approximately twenty employees in the following program areas:

Financial Management
The Financial Management Section is responsible for the formulation, execution and monitoring of the office budgets. This includes the prompt payment of vendor invoices and travel.  This Section ensures that proper management controls are in place over the expenditure of all funds and provides management with periodic reports on the allocation of resources and status of funds. In addition, the Financial Management Section is responsible for the procurement of services, supplies, furniture and equipment.

Human Resources & Personnel Management
The Human Resources & Personnel Management Section provides human resource needs of the office by recruiting and hiring a productive work force reflective of the nation's diversity. The Section's goal is to administer and implement fair and effective policies in all personnel management programs including hiring, job classification, advancement opportunities, salary and benefit administration, and employee relations. In serving all of its constituencies including employees, managers, job applicants, and the general public, the Section endeavors to consistently provide accurate, timely and helpful information and assistance.

Information Technology Management
The Information Technology (IT) Management Section is responsible for daily computer support functions throughout the district.  The Section manages the telecommunications, video conferencing equipment, word processing, electronic mail and file transfer, and access to on-line legal services as well as all updates on hardware and software and systems training for the District. Case management support is provided through networked computer systems consisting of the CaseView case management system, the CDCS system supporting the Financial Litigation Unit, the Victim Notification System and USA5.

Support Services
The Support Services Section is responsible for the logistical operations of the District that involve space/facility management, receptionist and mail services programs, equipment inventory control, and supply and property management. Support Services also manages the Government Vehicle (GOV) Fleet program and provides other support that affects the day to day administrative operations of the office.

Updated January 17, 2018

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No