Skip to main content
Press Release

Alabama Man Sentenced To Maximum 20 Years In Federal Prison For Assault Of U.S. Border Patrol Agents Near Langtry, Texas

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of Texas

Incident resulted in the deaths of two area residents and serious injury to a third

In Del Rio this afternoon, 39-year-old David Steiner of Vinegar Bend, AL, was sentenced to 20 years in federal prison after pleading guilty to felony assault of a U.S. Border Patrol agent announced United States Attorney Robert Pitman and Rodolfo Karisch, Del Rio Sector Chief Patrol Agent, U.S. Border Patrol.

In addition to the prison term, United States District Judge Alia Moses ordered that Steiner pay $4,390 restitution to the owner of the vehicle he stole and wrecked.  Judge Moses also ordered that Steiner be placed on supervised release for a period of three years after completing his prison term.

In July, Steiner pleaded guilty to one count of assaulting, resisting, or impeding an officer by using a deadly or dangerous weapon.  By pleading guilty, Steiner admitted that on May 25, 2012, he used his vehicle to charge at three Border Patrol agents near Langtry, TX, during an attempt to avoid potential detention after fleeing from a traffic stop near Comstock, TX. 

As a result of Steiner’s actions, the agents were forced to drive off the paved roadway to avoid being struck by Steiner.  While looking for Steiner, agents came upon a vehicle accident near Sanderson, TX, wherein Steiner hit an oncoming vehicle killing two occupants and gravely injuring the driver while trying to evade law enforcement. 

This case was investigated by agents with the Department of Homeland Security – U.S. Customs and Border Protection Office of Internal Affairs with assistance from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Kinney County Sheriff’s Office, Terrell County Sheriff’s Office and the Texas Department of Public Safety.  Assistant United States Attorney Ralph Paradiso prosecuted this case on behalf of the Government.

Updated December 15, 2014