Skip to main content
Press Release

Attorney General Announces Appointment of Robin C. Ashton as Head of the Office of Professional Responsibility

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Affairs

WASHINGTON — Attorney General Eric Holder today announced the appointment of Robin C. Ashton to serve as head of the Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) at the Department of Justice.

“As a veteran career prosecutor, Robin is uniquely qualified to serve as Counsel for Professional Responsibility, and I am confident she will lead the office with the highest standards of professionalism, integrity and dedication,” said Attorney General Holder.

The Office of Professional Responsibility is responsible for investigating allegations of professional misconduct involving department attorneys.

Ashton has worked in the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia since 1991, serving most recently as the Executive Assistant U.S. Attorney for Management where she managed and directed the oversight of significant civil and criminal cases and special operations. 

She served as Deputy Director in the Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys (EOUSA) at the department from 2001 to 2005, where she worked closely with the 94 U.S. Attorneys’ Offices and provided oversight of the litigation divisions and operational components. 

Prior to joining EOUSA, Ashton served as an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia for over a decade where she handled numerous complex appeals in the D.C. Circuit and the D.C. Court of Appeals, prosecuted over 50 felony jury trials and supervised hundreds of grand jury investigations.  Ashton began her career at the department in the litigation section of the Antitrust Division.

She was awarded both the Attorney General’s Award for Outstanding Leadership in Management and the United States Attorney’s Award for Meritorious Service in 2010, and EOUSA’s Director’s Award for Executive Achievement in 2004.

Ashton received her B.A. in English from the University of Michigan and her J.D. from the College of William and Mary, Marshall-Wythe School of Law.

Updated September 15, 2014

Press Release Number: 10-1476