Skip to main content

EDVA Overview

The United States Attorney’s Office (USAO) for the Eastern District of Virginia (EDVA) operates as a field office within the U.S. Department of Justice, with a total workforce of over 300 prosecutors, civil litigators, support staff, and contract personnel.

The District of Virginia was one of the original 13 judicial districts created by the Judiciary Act of 1789. In 1871, Virginia was divided into two districts: the Eastern and Western Districts of Virginia.

Today, the Eastern District of Virginia is one of 94 federal judicial districts located across the United States and its territories. EDVA includes four Divisions in Alexandria, Richmond, Norfolk, and Newport News, encompassing over 19,000 square miles and serving a population of over six million residents in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Below is a geographic overview of EDVA in each of our four Divisions:

Map of the Eastern District of Virginia

EDVA’s Mission

The United States Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of Virginia is responsible for the prosecution of all federal crimes and the litigation of all civil matters in which the United States government has an interest within EDVA.

In broad terms, EDVA’s mission includes the following:

  • Enforce federal law and defend the interests of the United States in federal court
  • Advance public safety and protect our communities
  • Foster respect for our legal system and the rule of law
  • Promote a peaceful and lawful society where the civil rights of all persons are valued and protected
  • Strengthen relationships with law enforcement, agency partners, the judiciary, and members of EDVA’s communities

To learn more about EDVA’s mission, objectives, and recent efforts, please see the dedicated pages for our Criminal Division and Civil Division, as well as our pages on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Services & Programs.

Updated December 2, 2022