You are here

Justice News

Department of Justice
U.S. Attorney’s Office
Eastern District of Virginia

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Virginia Beach Man Gets 10 Years for Child Pornography

NORFOLK, Va. – Brandon Matthew Florin, 34, of Virginia Beach, was sentenced today to 10 years in prison and a lifetime of supervised release for receipt of child pornography.

Florin pleaded guilty on Sept. 20, 2016. According to court documents, Florin was first identified sharing child pornography on a peer-to-peer network by the Bedford County Sheriff’s Office and the Virginia Beach Police Department. After the execution of a search warrant at Florin’s residence, law enforcement forensically analyzed Florin’s computer media and found well over 5,000 videos of child pornography and child erotica.

This case was brought as part of Project Safe Childhood, a nationwide initiative designed to protect children from exploitation and abuse. Led by the U.S. Attorneys’ Offices and the Justice Department’s Child Exploitation and Obscenity Section, Project Safe Childhood marshals federal, state and local resources to better locate, apprehend, and prosecute individuals who exploit children, as well as identify and rescue victims. For more information about Project Safe Childhood, please visit

Dana J. Boente, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Virginia; Clark E. Settles, Special Agent in Charge of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) Washington; and James A. Cervera, Chief of Virginia Beach Police, made the announcement after sentencing by U.S. District Judge Arenda Wright Allen. Assistant U.S. Attorney Elizabeth M. Yusi prosecuted the case.


A copy of this press release may be found on the website of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of Virginia. Related court documents and information may be found on the website of the District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia or on PACER by searching for Case No. 2:16-cr-100.

Project Safe Childhood
Updated January 26, 2017