Skip to main content
Press Release

Attorney General Merrick B. Garland Honors Department Of Justice Employees And Partners For The 2022 And 2023 Attorney General’s Awards

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Middle District of Florida
Three Middle District of Florida Prosecutors Honored

WASHINGTON – Attorney General Merrick B. Garland today announced the recipients of the 70th and 71st Attorney General’s Awards, honoring Justice Department employees and others for extraordinary contributions to the enforcement of our nation’s laws. Recipients from both 2022 and 2023 were selected from a group of more than 800 nominees.

“Each of today’s recipients has served with distinction, and in so doing, they have enabled the Justice Department to advance its work on behalf of the American people,” said Attorney General Garland. “Their exceptional leadership, heroism, and dedication have benefited people and communities across the country.

“It is indeed an honor to join Attorney General Garland in recognizing three members of my office for their distinguished service to our district and country,” stated U.S. Attorney Roger B. Handberg. “AUSAs Bratt, Krigsman, and Asokan continue to perform at the highest level as they work with our law enforcement partners to keep our citizens safe.”

In the Middle District of Florida, for 2023, Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Assistant U.S. Attorney Chauncey A. Bratt for his contributions to an international investigation involving the Hive ransomware group that targeted more than 1,500 victims in over 80 countries around the world, including hospitals, school districts, financial firms, and critical infrastructure. In addition, the Middle District of Florida’s National Security Chief Cherie Krigsman and Assistant U.S. Attorney Risha Asokan were recognized for their valuable contributions to the FBI’s Joint Terrorism Task Force.

For details on all of today’s award recipients, please visit:

Updated January 31, 2024

Office and Personnel Updates