Due to the lapse in appropriations, Department of Justice websites will not be regularly updated. The Department’s essential law enforcement and national security functions will continue. Please refer to the Department of Justice’s contingency plan for more information.

You are here


The District

The District of North Dakota encompasses the entire state of North Dakota, with a population of about 672,591 residents, according to the 2010 Census. The District is bordered on the west by Montana, on the east by Minnesota, and on the south by South Dakota. The northern border is shared with Canada. North Dakota has 53 counties spanning more than 70,665 square miles. The District has two staffed offices and two unstaffed offices.

The main headquarters of the United States Attorney's Office are located in Fargo, which is North Dakota's largest city. There are 10 Assistant United States Attorneys and 23 support staff personnel in the main office.

A staffed branch office is located in Bismarck, which is the state capitol. There are six Assistant United States Attorneys and eight support staff personnel in the branch office.

There are unstaffed branch offices in Minot and Grand Forks where hearings and trials are regularly scheduled.

Four Indian reservations are located in the District:  Spirit Lake, Fort Berthold, Standing Rock, and Turtle Mountain. A portion of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Nation eclipses a small section of southeastern North Dakota.

Together our staff is comprised of 48 highly trained and dedicated employees working in different areas such as civil law, criminal law, financial litigation, anti-terrorism, law enforcement coordination, victim-witness support, and administration.

The United States Attorney's Office is responsible for representing the federal government in virtually all litigation involving the United States in the District of North Dakota, including all criminal prosecutions for violations of federal law, civil lawsuits against the government, and actions to collect judgments and restitution on behalf of victims and taxpayers.

Updated February 2, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No