Skip to main content

Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee

LECC Coordinator North Dakota LECC
Terry Van Horn
Phone:  701-297-7400 or 888-716-7395



LECC Objectives

A primary responsibility of the U.S. Department of Justice is to work closely with prosecutors, police, and other criminal justice agencies to ensure that all levels of government are more effective in protecting citizens against serious and violent crime. The LECC program, which stresses cooperation with and assistance to state and local law enforcement agencies, is one of the U. S. Attorney's Office's highest priorities.

United States Attorney Jennifer Klemetsrud Puhl continues to vigorously implement the LECC initiative.
A primary objective of the LECC program for the District of North Dakota is to create an environment where the needs of law enforcement and victims are identified, and where state, local, tribal, and federal agencies can work together to meet one another's needs. The key to better coordination is communication among the different levels of government, and the LECC is an excellent channel to achieve this communication.

LECC Subcommittees

The LECC for the District of North Dakota has several subcommittees to address specialized areas of law enforcement needs across the District. District National Security Specialist Terry Van Horn heads the LECC subcommittees, which are made up of highly specialized and experienced personnel. The subcommittees exchange information and resources, and engage in joint investigations and operations.
The various subcommittees are:

  • Health Care Fraud
  • Bankruptcy Fraud
  • Financial Fraud
  • Victim/Witness Assistance
LECC Trainings

An important function of the LECC is to provide no-cost training on various topics for law enforcement personnel. Many of the training seminars are intended to assist line-level officers. The various LECC seminars offered in North Dakota, ranging from child abuse to computer crime investigation techniques, provide specialized education to over 200 law enforcement officials from a broad range of multilevel government law enforcement agencies.

The North Dakota LECC consists of over 400 individuals, including state, local, tribal, and federal agencies, as well as the military and Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Federal agency members include:

  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Drug Enforcement Administration
  • Homeland Security Investigations
  • Internal Revenue Service
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms
  • Bureau of Customs and Border Protection
  • Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs
  • U.S. Air Force
  • U.S. Customs Service
  • U.S. Postal Service

State agencies include:

  • State Attorney General's Office
  • Highway Patrol
  • Bureau of Criminal Investigation
  • Corrections
  • National Guard
  • Emergency Management

Local government agencies include:

  • Chiefs of Police
  • Sheriffs
  • County Prosecutors
  • Victim Assistance Provider
Helpful Resources

Department of Justice Child Exploitation and Obscenity Section (CEOS)
Department of Justice Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS)
International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)
National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
National Sheriffs' Association (NSA)
North Dakota Attorney General's Office
North Dakota Peace Officers' Association (NDPOA)
Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) - Department of Justice
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

Updated June 8, 2023