You are here

Indian Country

There are 38-federally recognized Indian tribes located in the State of Oklahoma, including 13 in the Northern District of Oklahoma:

Cherokee Nation - Delaware Tribe of Indians - Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma - Miami Tribe of Oklahoma - Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma - Muscogee (Creek) Nation - Osage Tribe - Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma - Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma - Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma - Quapaw Tribe of Indians - Seneca-Cayuga Tribe of Oklahoma - and Wyandotte Nation.

These tribes have their own governments and have a unique government to government relationship with the United States.  The United States Attorney’s Office is charged with prosecuting certain crimes that occur in Indian Country.  Unlike many states that have traditional reservations, Oklahoma Indian Country consists of trust and restricted land owned by tribal nations and its members.

Tribal Police and federal law enforcement investigate a variety of crimes occurring in Indian Country including theft, embezzlement, murder, assaults, firearm, and drug crimes.  Due to Oklahoma’s unique “checkerboard jurisdiction,” many tribes rely on cross-commission agreements to effectively combat crimes occurring in their jurisdiction.

The United States Attorney for the Northern District of Oklahoma recognizes a significant need for effective communication between the various components of the Department of Justice and Indian tribes, and regards its responsibility to the tribes as a significant priority. The United States Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Oklahoma has an Assistant United States Attorney that serves as liaison to the federally recognized tribes in the Northern District of Oklahoma.  The Northern District of Oklahoma has dedicated two Assistant United States Attorneys and two tribal Special Assistant United States Attorneys to the prosecution of federal crimes in Indian Country.

Read more about the work of the Department of Justice in Indian Country at

Updated July 15, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No