Skip to main content

About the District of Oregon

The United States Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon is one of 93 U.S. Attorney's Offices in the United States and its territories, all of which are part of the United States Department of Justice.

Assistant United States Attorneys conduct most of the trial and appellate work in which the United States is a party, and they have three statutory responsibilities under Title 28 United States Code Section 547:

  1. The prosecution of criminal cases brought by the federal government;
  2. The prosecution and defense of civil cases in which the United States is a party; and
  3. The collection of debts owed the federal government which are administratively uncollectible.

The United States Attorney's Office for the District of Oregon has 107 employees, with the main office located in Portland, where nearly half the population of the state lives. There are two branch offices also in the Oregon District, one in Eugene and one in Medford. There are two divisions, criminal and civil.


To pursue justice as we represent the United States of America in civil and criminal litigation in the most effective manner possible.

To provide leadership in our interactions with all federal, state, and local agencies as well as the community, and to serve as a liaison between them.

To foster public trust and confidence in law enforcement and the federal judicial system.

Updated January 12, 2023