You are here

Elder Justice Related Links and Resources

ELDER JUSTICE RELATED LINKS AND RESOURCES

Elder Justice Initiative (EJI),  https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice

Financial Exploitation, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/financial-exploitation

Senior Scam Alert, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/senior-scam-alert

Elder Abuse Resource Roadmap, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/roadmap

Prosecutors, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/prosecutors-0

Prosecutor Training and Resources, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/prosecutor-training-resources

The Elder Justice Roadmap,  https://www.justice.gov/file/852856/download

Elder Abuse/Mistreatment, DOJ Office for Victims of Crime,  https://ovc.ncjrs.gov/topic.aspx?topicid=100

Legal Issues Related to Elder Abuse, A Pocket Guide for Law Enforcement, DOJ BJA,

https://www.bja.gov/Publications/ABA-ElderAbuseGuide.pdf  

Elder Justice Resources for Law Enforcement, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/law-enforcement-1

Elder Justice and Victim Specialists, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/victim-specialists-0

Elder Justice and Multi-disciplinary Teams, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/mdt

Older Adults, Family, and Caregivers, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/victims-families-caregivers

Elder Justice Research, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/research-related-literature

Hotlines to Share with Seniorshttps://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/victim-specialists-

Elder Justice Task Forces, https://www.justice.gov/elderjustice/task-forces

 

OTHER FEDERAL CONTACTS, LINKS, AND RESOURCES

Federal Trade Commission (FTC)

Scams, https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/scam-alerts

How to file a Complaint: Health Information for Older People, https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0321-how-file-complaint-health-information-older-people

File consumer complaint with the FTC, https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/#crnt&panel1-1 or call 1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357).

 

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB)

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/;

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/practitioner-resources/resources-for-older-adults/

Community Banks and Credit Unions https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/community-banks-credit-unions/

 

FAQ’s on Elder Abuse, National Center on Elder Abuse (NCEA)

FAQ - https://ncea.acl.gov/faq/index.html

Website - https://ncea.acl.gov/index.html

 

U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Office of Inspector General (OIG)

https://www.va.gov/oig/hotline/

 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Elder Justice Webpages - https://www.hhs.gov/aging/elder-justice/index.html

How do I report elder abuse or abuse of an older person or senior?

https://www.hhs.gov/answers/programs-for-families-and-children/how-do-i-report-elder-abuse/index.html

 

Social Security Administration (SSA), Financial Exploitation

Contact your local SSA office or call national toll-free number at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325- 0778);  https://www.ssa.gov/payee/financial.htm

Detecting and Preventing Elder Abuse, Beyond the Numbers - https://oig.ssa.gov/newsroom/blog/june28-elder-abuse-awareness

 

U.S. Postal Inspection Service
Fraud against Older Americans https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/investigations/MailFraud/fraudschemes/SeniorFraud.aspx
File Complaint - https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/contactUs/filecomplaint.aspx

U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
File a Complaint - https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaint

Common Fraud Schemes, FBI
https://www.fbi.gov/scams-and-safety/common-fraud-schemes

Senior Corps (Corporation for National and Community Service or CNCS)
Elder Justice - https://www.nationalservice.gov/programs/senior-corps/elder-justice

Memorandum on Financial Institution and Law Enforcement Efforts to Combat Elder Financial Exploitation
CFPB, FinCEN (U.S. Dept. of the Treasury) - https://www.fincen.gov/sites/default/files/2017-08/8-25-2017_FINAL_CFPB%2BTreasury%2BFinCEN%20Joint%20Memo.pdf

 

STATE-BASED SOUTH CAROLINA RESOURCES, LINKS, ADULT PROTECTION

Adult Protective Services (APS)

 Your local county Department of Social Services Adult Protective Services, SC DSS  https://dss.sc.gov/contact

Report Abuse and Neglect of a Vulnerable Adult, SC DSS https://dss.sc.gov/abuseneglect/report-abuse-and-neglect-of-a-vulnerable-adult/

Resources, South Carolina DSS (Dept. of Social Services)  https://dss.sc.gov/abuseneglect/adult-protective-services/resources/

Adult Protective Services (APS), Criteria, SC DSS  https://dss.sc.gov/abuseneglect/adult-protective-services/aps-criteria/
 

Facilities Operated by SC DMH or SC DDSN

S.C. State Long Term Care Ombudsman Program, Lieutenant Governor’s Office on Aging, 803-734-9900, 1-800-868-9095,  https://aging.sc.gov/

Regional S.C. Offices on Long Term Care Ombudsman Programs, http://www.state.sc.us/dmh/ombud_reg_offices.pdf

VAIU, Vulnerable Adult Investigations Unit, SLED, 1-866-200-6066, http://www.sled.sc.gov/Vulnerable.aspx?MenuID=VulAdult

Reporting Abuse, South Carolina Dept. of Disabilities and Special Needs (DDSN),  https://ddsn.sc.gov/reporting-abuse
 

Other S.C. State Contacts 

Medicaid Fraud Unit, S.C. Attorney General’s Office, 1-888-662-4328;  1-888-662-4328

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED), 803-896-7654

S.C. Dept. of Mental Health (DMH),  https://scdmh.net/https://scdmh.net/contact/

S.C. DDSN,  https://www.ddsn.sc.gov/quality-management/allegations-abuse-neglect-and-exploitation

Fact Sheet Reporting Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation, Protection and Advocacy, (P&A),  https://www.ddsn.sc.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/Quality%20Management/Abuse-Neglect-Exploitation-8-9-17.pdf
 

Investment Fraud, Scams 

How Senior Citizens can avoid Investment Fraud and Abuse,  http://www.scag.gov/how-senior-citizens-can-avoid-investment-fraud-and-abuse

S.C. Attorney General’s Office, Securities Division (803) 734-9916;

S.C. Dept. of Consumer Affairs, 1-800-922-1593; https://www.consumer.sc.gov/Pages/default.aspx

 A Wise Guide to Charitable Giving, S.C. Sec’ty. State,  https://www.scsos.com/forms/CharityBrochure.pdf, 1-802-734-1790, www.scsos.com

 

Updated December 12, 2018

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No