Skip to main content
Press Release

Arthur Schlecht And Co-defendants Sentenced For Role In Precious Metals Investment Scheme

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Southern District of Florida

Wifredo A. Ferrer, United States Attorney for the Southern District of Florida, George L. Piro, Special Agent in Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Miami Field Office, Ronald J. Verrochio, Postal Inspector in Charge, United States Postal Inspection Service (USPIS), Drew J. Breakspear, Commissioner, Florida Office of Financial Regulation, and Richard P. Foelber, Chief of Cooperative Enforcement, Commodity Futures Trading Commission announce the results of the sentencing hearing on June 26, 2014, of Arthur John Schlecht, 54, formerly of Miami-Dade County, for conspiracy to commit mail and wire fraud, and for wire fraud. Schlecht was convicted on February 27, 2014, following a five-week jury trial in Miami.

United States Judge Richard W. Goldberg sentenced Schlecht to 120 months in prison. Just before Schlecht’s sentencing hearing, co-defendants Carlos Rodriguez, age 37, and Ricardo Padron, age 54, were both sentenced to 45 months in prison. Co-defendant Robert Roca, age 62, was sentenced to 36 months in prison. Co-defendants are formerly of Miami-Dade County.

The evidence at trial revealed that over 700 investor victims lost in excess of $25 million as a result of the scheme perpetrated by Schlecht and his co-defendants. Co-defendants Rodriguez, Padron and Roca pled guilty prior to trial.

Mr. Ferrer commended the investigative efforts of the FBI, USPIS, the Florida Office of Financial Regulation and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. This case was prosecuted by Senior Litigation Counsel Caroline Heck Miller and Assistant U.S. Attorney Michael R. Sherwin.

A copy of this press release may be found on the website of the United States Attorney's Office for the Southern District of Florida at Related court documents and information may be found on the website of the District Court for the Southern District of Florida at or on

Updated March 12, 2015