Skip to main content

Organizational Chart (Text version)

The organization chart depicts the Department's organization as follows:

Top center of the page: Attorney General

Directly below and connected to the Attorney General is the Deputy Attorney General.

Below the Deputy Attorney General, from left to right, top to bottom, are:

Solicitor General

Associate Attorney General

Office of Legislative Affairs

Office of Legal Counsel

Office of Legal Policy

Office of Public Affairs

Office of Tribal Justice

Office of the Executive Secretariat

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Criminal Division

Drug Enforcement Administration

Bureau of Prisons

Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys

U.S. Marshals Service

U.S. Attorneys

INTERPOL Washington

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

National Security Division

Office of Professional Responsibility

Office of the Inspector General

Office of the Pardon Attorney

Justice Management Division

U.S. Parole Commission

Executive Office for Immigration Review

Executive Office for Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Forces

Professional Responsibility Advisory Office

Directly under the Solicitor General is the Office of the Solicitor General.

Under and connected to the Associate Attorney General are (top to bottom, left to right):

Office of Justice Programs

Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS)

Executive Office for U.S. Trustees

Office of Information Policy

Office on Violence Against Women

Foreign Claims Settlement Commission

Civil Rights Division

Civil Division

Antitrust Division

Environment and Natural Resources Division

Tax Division

Community Relations Service

Office for Access to Justice

This organization chart was signed by Merrick B. Garland, Attorney General, October 28, 2021

Updated January 19, 2024