List Of Participating Countries/Governments

The United States has bilateral treaties with Bolivia, Canada, France, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Thailand, and Turkey, and is a party to two multilateral conventions, the Council of Europe (COE) Convention on the Transfer of Sentenced Persons, and the Inter-American Convention on Serving Criminal Sentences Abroad.   (Applications for prisoners seeking transfer to/from Canada, France, Panama, and Turkey are normally processed under the COE Convention.)  The United States also has prisoner transfer agreements with the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.


Bolivia * Micronesia Republic of Palau Thailand
Canada * Marshall Islands Panama * Turkey *
France * Mexico Peru  

* Bolivia, Canada, France, Mexico, Panama, and Turkey are also signatories to the Council of Europe Convention. Canada, Mexico and Panama are also signatories to the Inter-American Convention.


Albania Greece Palau
Andorra Guatemala Panama
Argentina Holy See Paraguay
Armenia Honduras Peru
Australia Hungary Poland
Austria Iceland Portugal
Azerbaijan India Romania
Bahamas Ireland Russia
Belgium Israel San Marino
Belize Italy Saudi Arabia
Bolivia Japan Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Kazakhstan Slovakia
Brazil Korea, Republic of Slovenia
Bulgaria Latvia Spain
Canada Liechtenstein Suriname
Chile Lithuania Sweden
Costa Rica Luxemborg Switzerland
Croatia  Macedonia, Republic of Thailand
Cyprus Malta Tonga
Czech Republic Marshall Islands Trinidad/Tobaga
Denmark Mauritius Turkey
Ecuador Mexico Ukraine
El Salvador Micronesia United Kingdom**
Estonia Moldova Uruguay
Finland Mongolia Venezuela
France Montenegro  
Georgia Netherlands*   
Germany Nicaragua   
Ghana Norway  

* Netherland Territories: Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba

** United Kingdom Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus, St. Helena and St. Helena Dependencies, British Indian Ocean Territory, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Henderson Island, Pitcairn, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Isle of Man


Updated November 8, 2021

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No