Skip to main content

List Of Participating Countries/Governments

The United States has bilateral treaties with Bolivia, Canada, France, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Thailand, and Turkey, and is a party to two multilateral conventions, the Council of Europe (COE) Convention on the Transfer of Sentenced Persons, and the Inter-American Convention on Serving Criminal Sentences Abroad.   (Applications for prisoners seeking transfer to/from Canada, France, Panama, and Turkey are normally processed under the COE Convention.)  The United States also has prisoner transfer agreements with the Federated States of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau.


Bolivia * Micronesia Republic of Palau Thailand
Canada * Marshall Islands Panama * Turkey *
France * Mexico Peru  

* Bolivia, Canada, France, Mexico, Panama, and Turkey are also signatories to the Council of Europe Convention. Canada, Mexico and Panama are also signatories to the Inter-American Convention.


Albania Greece Palau
Andorra Guatemala Panama
Argentina Holy See Paraguay
Armenia Honduras Peru
Australia Hungary Poland
Austria Iceland Portugal
Azerbaijan India Qatar
Bahamas Ireland Romania
Belgium Israel Russia
Belize Italy San Marino
Bolivia Japan Saudi Arabia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Kazakhstan Serbia
Brazil Korea, Republic of Slovakia
Bulgaria Latvia Slovenia
Canada Liechtenstein Spain
Chile Lithuania Suriname
Costa Rica Luxembourg Sweden
Croatia  Macedonia, Republic of Switzerland
Cyprus Malta Thailand
Czech Republic Marshall Islands Tonga
Denmark Mauritius Trinidad/Tobaga
Ecuador Mexico Turkey
El Salvador Micronesia Ukraine
Estonia Moldova United Kingdom**
Finland Mongolia Uruguay
France Montenegro Venezuela
Georgia Netherlands*   
Germany Nicaragua   
Ghana Norway  

* Netherland Territories: Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba

** United Kingdom Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Sovereign Base areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus, St. Helena and St. Helena Dependencies, British Indian Ocean Territory, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Henderson Island, Pitcairn, British Virgin Islands, Falkland Islands, Isle of Man


Updated April 8, 2024