Skip to main content


Please note that as of January 18, 2017, the Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices has been renamed the Immigrant and Employee Rights Section (IER).

In an effort to increase accessibility to its services and resources, the Immigrant and Employee Rights Section (IER) has signed and/or reinvigorated memoranda of understanding with numerous federal, state and municipal fair employment practice agencies and with foreign governments. Through these partners, individuals can now obtain information about IER and file charges of immigration related employment discrimination. These agreements also provide for the referral of discrimination charges and training for agency and consular staff.

For questions about whether a matter can be referred to IER, please review the

or contact the IER Referral Duty Attorney by calling our office or sending an email to Agencies that wish to refer a charge to IER should completed and submit the


Federal Partner Agencies

USCIS: U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, Verification Division

USCIS: U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, Fraud Detection and National Security Directorate

EEOC: U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

OFCCP: U.S. Department of Labor Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs

NLRB: Office of General Counsel of the National Labor Relations Board

WHD: U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division


DOS/CA: U.S. Department of State Bureau of Consular Affairs (summary)


Embassy/Consular Partnerships

Ecuador: Ministry For Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility of Ecuador (also in Spanish)

El Salvador: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of El Salvador (also in Spanish)

Mexico: Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the United Mexican States (also in Spanish)

Honduras: Secretariat of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Honduras (also in Spanish)


 (also in )


State, Municipal, and Other Partner Agencies


Anchorage Equal Rights Commission


Arizona Attorney General's Office, Civil Rights Division


California Department of Fair Employment & Housing


Denver Anti-Discrimination Office, Agency for Human Rights & Community Relations


New Haven Commission on Equal Opportunities


Broward County Human Relations Commission
Lee County Office of Equal Opportunity
Pinellas County Office of Human Rights


Georgia Commission on Equal Opportunity


Hawaii Department of Labor & Industrial Relations, Civil Rights Commission


Idaho Human Rights Commission


Chicago Commission on Human Relations
Illinois Department of Human Rights


Bloomington Human Rights Commission
Fort Wayne Metropolitan Human Rights Commission


Kansas Human Rights Commission
City of Salina Human Relations Commission


Lexington-Fayette Urban County Human Rights Commission
Louisville & Jefferson County Human Rights Commission


Maine Human Rights Commission


Prince George's County Human Rights Commission
Maryland Commission on Human Relations


The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination


Michigan Department of Civil Rights


Minneapolis Department of Civil Rights
Minnesota Department of Human Rights


Kansas City Human Relations Department
Missouri Commission on Human Rights


Montana Department of Labor & Industry, Human Relations Division


Lincoln Commission on Human Rights
Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission

New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions, Human Rights Bureau

North Carolina

North Carolina Human Relations Commission
North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings, Civil Rights Division

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Labor, Human Rights Division


Ohio Civil Rights Commission


The Government of Palau


Philadelphia Commission on Human Relations
Pittsburgh Commission on Human Relations
York Human Relations Commission

Puerto Rico

The Municipality of San Juan, Puerto Rico, Department of Family and Community
Puerto Rico Department of Labor, Anti-Discrimination Unit

South Carolina

South Carolina Human Affairs Commission

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Labor, Division of Human Rights
Sioux Falls Human Relations Commission


City of Corpus Christi Human Relations Commission


Labor Commission of Utah, Anti-Discrimination and Labor Division


Office of the Attorney General for the State of Vermont


Seattle Office For Civil Rights

Washington, DC

District of Columbia Office of Human Rights

West Virginia

Huntington Human Relations Commission


Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, Labor Standards, Fair Employment Program



Worker Hotline: 1-800-255-7688 • Employer Hotline: 1-800-255-8155


Updated January 19, 2021