Reasonable Accommodation

DOJ Reasonable Accommodation Policy and Instruction | Personal Assistant Services | Additional Resources | Reasonable Accommodation Coordinators

The Department of Justice (DOJ) provides reasonable accommodation to DOJ employees and job applicants for employment with the Department.  A reasonable accommodation is a change in the work environment or how things are usually done that enables an qualified individual with a disability to apply for a job, perform the essential functions of a job, fully access the work environment and/or to enjoy equal access to the benefits and privileges of employment.  Federal law requires that employers provide reasonable accommodation to qualified individuals with a disability, unless to do so would pose an undue hardship.  A qualified individual with a disability is a person who meets legitimate skill, experience, education, or other requirements of an employment position that they hold or seek, and who can perform the essential job functions with or without a reasonable accommodation.

If you need a reasonable accommodation for any part of the job application and hiring process, please notify the Human Resources specialist listed on the vacancy announcement, or contact the Human Resources Office at the location in which you are seeking employment.  DOJ employees should contact their immediate supervisor or component Reasonable Accommodation Coordinator for assistance.  Please also review the DOJ Reasonable Accommodation Policy and Instruction for more details on how submit a request and other relevant guidance about the process.

DOJ Reasonable Accommodation Policy and Instruction

Executive Order 13164 directs all federal agencies to establish procedures to facilitate the provision of reasonable accommodations for employees and job applicants with disabilities.  Pursuant to this Executive Order and our continuing obligations under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Department has established the following policy and instruction to provide reasonable accommodation.

DOJ Policy Statement, Reasonable Accommodation, 1100.01 (September 2019)

  • Sets forth Department of Justice (DOJ or Department) policies, roles, and responsibilities with respect to the provision of reasonable accommodations for employees and applicants with disabilities.

DOJ Instruction, Reasonable Accommodation Process, 1100.01.01 (September 2019)

  • Establishes the Department of Justice (DOJ or Department) process and procedures for providing reasonable accommodation to employees and applicants 

APPENDIX

Personal Assistant Services

Federal agencies are required to provide personal assistant services (PAS) during working hours to qualified persons with disabilities, who need assistance with performing activities of daily living that an individual would typically perform if he or she did not have a disability, and that is not otherwise required as an accommodation.  These services include, for example, assistance with removing and putting on clothing, eating, and using the restroom.  Individuals should use the DOJ reasonable accommodation process to request PAS.  For additional information about PAS, please visit:  Questions & Answers: Federal Agencies’ Obligation to Provide Personal Assistance Services Under Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act

Additional Resources

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission -- “Enforcement Guidance on Reasonable Accommodation and Undue Hardship under the ADA

U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy -- Job Accommodation Network

Reasonable Accommodation Coordinators

Bureau

Contact

Phone

Email

Antitrust Division

Karen Jung

(202) 514-8895

Karen.Jung@usdoj.gov

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Beatrice Schmidt

(202) 648-7677

Beatrice.Schmidt@atf.gov

Civil Division

Veronda Nicholas

(202) 305-8672

veronda.nicholas@usdoj.gov

Civil Rights Division

Sandra Brown

(202) 616-2688

Sandra.brown@usdoj.gov

Criminal Division

Shelby Benham

(202) 353-2373

Shelby.Benham@usdoj.gov

Drug Enforcement Administration

John Christie

(571) 776-2844

john.e.christie@usdoj.gov

Environment and Natural Resources Division

Robyn Johnson

(202) 616-7915

Robyn.Johnson@usdoj.gov

Executive Office for Immigration Review

Michelle Curry

Laura Robbins

(703) 305-0990

(703) 305-1087

Michelle.Curry@usdoj.gov

Laura.Robbins@usdoj.gov

Executive Office for the United States Attorneys

Matisha Wilson

(202) 252-5363

MWilson3@usa.doj.gov

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Erica Andren Reyes

(202) 234-2158

REASONABLE_ACCOMMODA@FBI.GOV

Federal Bureau of Prisons

Kurt Nance

(202) 234-2158

Kurt.Nance@usdoj.gov

Justice Management Division, Offices, Boards and Divisions

Annette Garland

(202) 616-4810

Annette.M.Garland@usdoj.gov

Office of Justice Programs

Quentin Jones

(202) 616-1723

Quentin.Jones@usdoj.gov

U.S. Marshals Service

Katrina Queen

(703) 740-8510

Katrina.Queen@usdoj.gov

Updated May 17, 2021

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No