Skip to main content
Press Release

Shelby County Sheriff John Samaniego to Serve as a Commissioner on the Presidential Commission on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of Alabama

BIRMINGHAM –Shelby County Sheriff John Samaniego was appointed to serve as a Commissioner on the Presidential Commission on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice announced, U.S. Attorney Jay E. Town.  Attorney General William P. Barr announced the establishment of the Commission today. On Oct. 28, 2019, President Donald J. Trump signed Executive Order No. 13896, authorizing and designating the Attorney General to create such a Commission that would explore modern issues affecting law enforcement that most impact the ability of American policing to reduce crime.

“This Commission is critical, not only because it is timely, but because law enforcement faces more and greater challenges than ever before,” Town said.  “Sheriff John Samaniego is a dedicated public servant with the experience and capacity which will serve the Commission’s purpose well.  Not only will the fruits of this effort reduce crime in America, it will reduce the respect deficit towards law enforcement that so deservedly need our support.” 

“I am grateful and humbled by the opportunity to serve the interests of our country and our nation’s law enforcement officers,” Shelby County Sheriff John Samaniego said. “I will work tirelessly to represent Shelby County and the State of Alabama.  Most importantly, I will strive to deliver to President Trump, along with my fellow Commissioners, recommendations that will better serve our citizens, safeguard liberties, and encourage and support our nation’s law enforcement and their families.” 

The Commissioners, appointed by the Attorney General and announced today, are urban police chiefs, state prosecutors, county sheriffs, members of rural law enforcement, federal agents, U.S. Attorneys, and a state attorney general. In addition to their diverse experiences and backgrounds, each member brings to the Commission an expertise in formulating and shaping law enforcement policy and leading police departments and law enforcement organizations.

The year 2020 marks the 150th anniversary of the Department of Justice.  Learn more about the history of our agency at

Updated January 22, 2020