Skip to main content


Mission Statement

The United States Attorneys serve as the nation's principal litigators under the direction of the Attorney General. There are 93 United States Attorneys stationed throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. United States Attorneys are appointed by, and serve at the discretion of, the President of the United States, with advice and consent of the United States Senate. One United States Attorney is assigned to each of the judicial districts, with the exception of Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands where a single United States Attorney serves in both districts. Each United States Attorney is the chief federal law enforcement officer of the United States within his or her particular jurisdiction.

To represent the Criminal and Civil interests of the United States

The United States Attorney's Office for the Northern District of New York (NDNY) will:

  • Ensure public safety against foreign and domestic threats.
  • Prosecute and defend criminal and civil cases with fairness and justice for all.
  • Protect the rights of victims, witnesses and the public.
  • Enhance the cooperation of law enforcement agencies and community groups.
  • Inform and educate the public with the goal of building trust and deterring crime.
  • Enhance the quality of life through community programs.
  • Serve as a model of ethical and professional conduct.
  • Provide a work environment to maximize the achievement of these goals.
Updated February 3, 2015