Skip to main content
Press Release

Western District of New York Human Trafficking Task Force announces series of trainings

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, Western District of New York

BUFFALO, N.Y. - January is Human Trafficking Prevention Month, a time to raise awareness about all forms of trafficking, including sex trafficking and labor trafficking. U.S. Attorney Trini E. Ross announced today that the Western District of New York Human Trafficking Task Force is kicking off a series of training conferences to educate members of law enforcement, the legal community, and non-government organizations that provide services to victims and survivors of human trafficking.

The first training conference is scheduled for tomorrow, January 10, 2024, from 9:00 am-12:30 pm at Jamestown Community College, Hultquist Library Building Lenna Theater, 525 Falconer Street, Jamestown, NY, 14701.

The conference will cover a victim-centered approach to identifying, investigating and prosecuting trafficking cases and responding to trafficking victims and survivors. Presentations will include sex trafficking, labor trafficking, domestic violence and child trafficking, and services and resources that are available for victims and survivors. Additional conferences will be held in the coming weeks and months throughout the Western District of New York.

According to a proclamation from President Biden declaring January 2024 as Human Trafficking Prevention month, more than 27 million people around the world endure the abuse of human trafficking and forced labor, including thousands of people right here in the United States. For more information on sex and labor trafficking, including services and resources, go to:

The Western District of New York Human Trafficking Task Force, which includes the U.S. Attorney’s Office, Erie County Sheriff’s Office, and International Institute of Buffalo, brings together law enforcement and social and legal service agencies to collaborate on human trafficking cases. The Western District of New York includes the 17 counties: Allegany; Cattaraugus; Chautauqua; Chemung; Erie; Genesee; Livingston; Monroe; Niagara; Ontario; Orleans; Schuyler; Seneca; Steuben; Wayne; Wyoming; and Yates.

# # # #


Barbara Burns


Updated January 17, 2024

Human Trafficking