You are here

About Our District

The mission of the United States Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of Michigan is to faithfully enforce the law and to protect the citizens of our district from those who violate federal law – especially violent criminal predators.

The United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Michigan is the Chief Federal Law Enforcement Officer in the District.  The U.S. Attorney is one of 93 U.S. Attorneys appointed by the President and confirmed by the United States Senate.

The United States Attorney’s Office is the “field office” of the U.S. Department of Justice.  The primary function of the U.S. Attorney's Office is to partner with federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies to prosecute federal crimes.  In civil cases, the U.S. Attorney's Office defends the United States and brings civil actions to obtain judgments, restitution, fines, and forfeitures.

The United States Attorney’s Office represents 6.5 million people in the eastern half of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula. Our jurisdiction consists of 34 counties, stretching from the Ohio border north to the Mackinac Bridge, and from mid-Michigan east to Canada.  Twenty-two federal judges, most of whom sit in Detroit, adjudicate cases in the District.

The main U.S. Attorney's Office is in Detroit, with primary branch offices in Flint and Bay City. Smaller branch offices are in Ann Arbor and Port Huron. The office employs approximately 120 Assistant United States Attorneys and 135 paralegals and support staff.

The office's annual budget is approximately $25 million.  Through forfeitures and civil settlements, the office regularly brings in over $100 million annually for the United States, which was turned over to taxpayers and crime victims.

Our office is organized into four divisions: Criminal, Civil, Appellate, and Administrative.


The U.S. Attorney’s Office is an Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Employer.  For more information regarding EEO, click here.

To view Management & Divisions - click the link

Map of the Eastern District of Michigan

Map of the Eastern District of Michigan

The 34 counties in the eastern district are Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Genesee, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Midland, Monroe, Montmorency, Oakland, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Tuscola, Washtenaw and Wayne.

Updated February 28, 2019

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No