Skip to main content

District Info

Eastern District of Texas Map

According to the 2010 U.S. Census figures, more than 3.5 million people make their homes in the Eastern District of Texas. As with Texas generally, the Eastern District has sustained remarkable population growth in the past 15 years, particularly in the suburban counties north of Dallas. The United States Attorney's Office maintains staffed offices in Beaumont, Lufkin, Tyler, Texarkana, Sherman and Plano.

The Beaumont Division, which is located in the southernmost part of the District lies on the Texas Gulf Coast. In addition to beautiful beaches, the area is home to many involved in the oil and gas industry, including several large petrochemical plants. There are four seaports in the division, with the Port of Beaumont serving as a major port for the transportation of military equipment. The District's headquarters is located in Beaumont.

Moving northward, the Lufkin Division serves communities dominated by the lumber and forest products industry. Containing the Davy Crockett, Angelina and Sabine National Forests and the Toledo Bend and Sam Rayburn reservoirs, this heavily forested area offers many recreational opportunities.

The Tyler, Marshall and Texarkana Divisions feature industries related to the East Texas oil field and agricultural interests. But the natural beauty of the area also attracts a variety of businesses, particularly light manufacturing and high tech companies. Tyler serves as the regional medical center for East Texas, bringing a large influx of health care professionals to the area.

Bordering Oklahoma, the Sherman Division includes Collin and Denton Counties, which contain the bustling northern suburban communities of the Dallas/Fort Worth. Plano, in particular, has become the corporate headquarters for a number of large companies and is the District's largest city in terms of population. The Sherman Division offers opportunities to enjoy the benefits of both rural and urban life.

Staffed offices are located in Beaumont, Lufkin, Tyler, Texarkana, Sherman and Plano. There is no staffed office in the Marshall Division. Rather AUSAs from both Tyler and Texarkana provide ample coverage.

Updated February 4, 2022