Due to the lapse in appropriations, Department of Justice websites will not be regularly updated. The Department’s essential law enforcement and national security functions will continue. Please refer to the Department of Justice’s contingency plan for more information.

You are here

Former U.S. Attorneys for the Northern District of Georgia


U.S. Attorney

Years Served

Emory Speer 1883-1885
Ben H. Hill, Jr. 1885-1889
Sion A. Darnell 1889-1893
Joseph S. James 1893-1897
Edgar A. Angier 1897-1905
Farish C. Tate 1905-1913
Alexander Hooper 1913-1921
Clint W. Hager 1921-1934
Lawrence S. Camp 1934-1942
M. Neil Andrews 1942-1946
J. Ellis Mundy 1946-1953
James W. Dorsey 1953-1959
Charles D. Read, Jr. 1959-1961
Charles L. Goodson 1961-1969
John W. Stokes, Jr. 1969-1977
William L. Harper 1977-1981
Larry D. Thompson 1982-1986
Robert L. Barr, Jr. 1986-1990
Joe D. Whitley 1990-1993
Kent B. Alexander 1994-1997
Richard H. Deane, Jr.  1998-2001
William S. Duffey, Jr. 2001-2004
David E. Nahmias 2004-2009
Sally Quillian Yates 2010-2015
* John A. Horn 2015-2017

* Judiciary Appointed

Updated October 30, 2017

Was this page helpful?

Was this page helpful?
Yes No