Skip to main content
Press Release

U.S. Attorney Attends South Dakota Law Enforcement Memorial Services

For Immediate Release
U.S. Attorney's Office, District of South Dakota
Fallen Law Enforcement Officers Honored in State Capitol as part of National Police Week

Pierre, SD – United States Attorney Ron Parsons attended the South Dakota Law Enforcement Memorial held as part of National Police Week in Pierre on May 16, 2018.  Services, memorials, and tributes honoring law enforcement officers are held throughout the United States during this week.

In October 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the surrounding week as National Police Week.  Each year at this time, our nation pays special recognition to those officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others.  In addition, we celebrate the contributions of all police officers, recognizing their hard work and dedication in keeping our communities safe.

The U.S. Department of Justice is committed to supporting law enforcement officers through the “Back the Blue” initiative created by President Donald J. Trump in his first executive order after taking office, and implemented by Attorney General Jeff Sessions.

“The most important thing that any government does is protect the safety and rights of its citizens,” said U.S. Attorney Parsons.  “Everything else depends on it.  And that is the daily calling of police officers.  The women and men of law enforcement – whether federal, state, local, or tribal – should never doubt that they have our deepest admiration and gratitude.”

“Whenever something goes wrong or anyone is in distress, they are the ones who answer the call,” he added.  “They are the thin blue line standing in the breach between safety and lawlessness.  They keep the peace, protect us from danger, and uphold the rule of law.  We must never forget how blessed we are by those who willingly dedicate their lives to this mission.”

This year’s memorial began with a Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Capitol Lake Monument, followed by a motorcade from the George S. Mickelson Building to the Madison Avenue Church of Christ.  The memorial service at the church commenced with a welcome by Pierre Police Chief Jason Jones and Call to Order by Sioux Falls Police Captain Loren McManus.

After the Presentation of Colors by the Memorial Honor Guard, the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mrs. Karla Blemaster’s Fourth Grade Class from Kennedy Elementary in Pierre.  South Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper Tori Gordan sang the National Anthem and Father David Hussey, Chaplain of the Pierre Police Department, presented the Invocation.

A Proclamation issued by South Dakota Governor Dennis Daugaard honoring our fallen law enforcement officers was then read by Colonel Craig Price of the South Dakota Highway Patrol.

Chief Justice David Gilbertson of the South Dakota Supreme Court gave the Keynote Address, honoring the commitment, dedication, and sacrifice of law enforcement officers.

Following the keynote, Mrs. Blemaster’s class presented a poignant musical tribute to our fallen officers.

Sully County Sheriff Bill Stahl, President of the South Dakota Sheriffs’ Association, then read the Roll Call of South Dakota law enforcement officers who have given their lives in the line of duty.  Since 1791, more than 22,000 law enforcement officers across the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice.  At least 69 line of duty deaths have occurred in South Dakota since Territorial days.  These fallen heroes are:

Aberdeen Police Department (1)

Joseph Daly (August 16, 1919)

Alcester Police Department (1)

Alf Amundsen (September 10, 1940)

Andover Police Department (1)

Daniel Passage (July 29, 1916)

Brown County Sheriff's Office (2)

Ike Fuller (July 1, 1923)

Ole Solberg (February 25, 1939)

Brule County Sheriff's Office (2)

James Boney (September 6, 1926)

Clarendon Miller (September 6, 1931)

Bureau of Indian Affairs (7)

Paul Afraid of Soldiers (December 15, 1890)

John Armstrong (December 15, 1890)

Henry Bullhead (December 19, 1890)

David Hawkman (December 15, 1890)

James Little Eagle (December 15, 1890)

Charles Shavehead (December 16, 1890)

Frank Horn Cloud (March 10, 1910)

Butte County Sheriff's Office (1)

Dave Malcolm (January 24, 1946)

Campbell County Sheriff’s Office (2)

Walter Salzsiedler (April 25, 1949)

John Bechtold (August 4, 2004)

Cheyenne River Sioux Tribal Police (1)

Merrill Bruguier (October 9, 2010)

Custer Police Department (1)

James Sawyer (June 13, 1972)

Dallas Marshals Office (1)

Walter Wood (February 25, 1921)

DeSmet Police Department (1)

Arthur Back (September 13, 1932)

Emery Marshals Office (1)

George Shocker (September 24, 1935)

Grant County Sheriff's Office (1)

Melbourne Lewis (July 30, 1941)

Gregory Police Department (1)

William Bearshield (July 26, 1976)

Haakon County Sheriff's Office (1)

Matthew Schofield (March 21, 1985)

Huron Police Department (3)

Clifford Hawley (September 7, 1909)

Virgil Deyo (November 29, 1966)

Thomas Callies (March 30, 1982)

Hyde County Sheriff's Office (1)

Hugh McNamara (April 30, 1926)

Lead Police Department (1)

Milan Miller (November 22, 1938)

Leola Police Department (1)

Clarence Berry (December 12, 1921)

Miller Police Department (1)

William Stender (May 15, 1963)

Mitchell Department of Public Safety (1)

John Pierce (April 9, 1884)

Moody County Sheriff’s Office (1)

William Davis (November 3, 2003)

Oglala Sioux Tribal Police (3)

John Red Horse (November 16, 1894)

Glenn Hollow Horn (April 5, 1980)

Kelmer One Feather (July 1, 2000)

Pierre Police Department (1)

Alva Burnett (June 12, 1944)

Rapid City Police Department (8)

Billy Wilson (November 6, 1885)

James Hawkes (December 28, 1916)

Jack O’Leary (November 6, 1926)

Elmer Simons (April 2, 1955)

Daniel Wickard (June 9, 1972)

Leslie Hollers (September 16, 1985)

Ryan McCandless (August 2, 2011)

Nick Armstrong (August 6, 2011)

Sioux Falls Police Department (2)

Edward Pike (September 23, 1922)

George Saville (October 6, 1935)

South Dakota Department of Corrections (4)

Eugene Reily (March 6, 1936)

Edward Jaworski (September 6, 1951)

Russell Anderson (March 3, 1998)

Ronald Johnson (April 12, 2011)

South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks (2)

George Driscoll (April 26, 1964)

Ronald Brandt (December 20, 1979)

South Dakota Division of Criminal Investigation (1)

Thomas Matthews (January 24, 1946)

South Dakota Highway Patrol (5)

Bernard Benson (September 17, 1941)

Henry Russell (November 19, 1958)

Verlyn Mettler (March 9, 1976)

Steven Hoffman (March 12, 1980)

Oren Hindman (May 2, 1985)

South Dakota State Deputy Sheriff (1)

Charles Halpin (May 13, 1927)

Turner County Sheriff’s Office (1)

Chad Mechels (March 15, 2009)

United States Department of Justice Alcohol, Tobacco, & Firearms (2)

Charles Bintliff (May 13, 1927)

Oscar Hanson (March 28, 1928)

United States Federal Bureau of Investigation (2)

Jack Coler (June 26, 1975)

Ronald Williams (June 26, 1975)

United States Marshals Service (1)

Edward Flanery (March 28, 1928)

Webster Police Department (1)

Albert Hubsch (December 5, 1954)

White Lake Police Department (1)

Clyde Rogers (February 3, 1948)

On behalf of us all, the U.S. Attorney’s Office of the District of South Dakota and the U.S. Department of Justice honor and mourn our fallen law enforcement heroes, and express our deepest thanks to all law enforcement officers for their bravery and dedication to the safety of our communities and the rule of law.

Updated May 16, 2018

Community Outreach